1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: unable to connect to internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by vicks, Sep 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. vicks

    vicks Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    5,145
    Good evening (I think)
    I have been working on my daughter's older IBM think pad running XP pro.
    Have installed SP3, run avg (clean run). I am able to connect to the dial up number, to the wifi at her house, but unable to access the internet. Get notice that I need to contact the company supporting the OS for help.
    I have tried system restore, reinstalled IE7.. nothing has worked..
    Does someone have a suggestion?
    System is VERY SLOW also./
    Thanks in advance for whatever help someone can give.
    Vicks
     
  2. Cg13

    Cg13

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    maybe you can set your ip address manually, you can check your internet ip address and insert it manually on your notebook
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    There's no reason to screw around with manual addresses. If DHCP won't connect, it's real unlikely that manual addressing will fix it.

    Let's start with some real information about the environment that has the problem.

    Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

    Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider).
    Make and exact model of the broadband modem.
    Make and exact model and hardware version of the router (if a separate unit).
    Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
    Connection type, wired or wireless.
    If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
    Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP (Home or Pro), SP1-SP2-SP3, Vista (Home, Business, Ultimate), etc.
    The Internet Browser in use, IE, Firefox, Opera, etc.




    Please give an exact description of your problem symptoms, including the exact text of any error messages.



    • If you're using a wireless connection, have you tried a direct connection with a cable to see if that changes the symptoms?
    • For wireless issues, have you disabled all encryption on the router to see if you can connect that way?
    • Have you connected directly to the broadband modem to see if this is a router or modem/ISP issue?
    • If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally?




    On any affected computer, I'd also like to see this:

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    Type the following commands:

    PING 206.190.60.37

    PING yahoo.com

    NBTSTAT -n

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  4. vicks

    vicks Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    5,145
    Mr. John!!!
    Thanks for you reply,. Sorry to be so late in replying to you, we had to go to Lincoln, NE (70 mi.away) and I just opened the email.
    Here it goes (from Belarc)
    System Management products, for large and small companies.

    Operating System System Model
    Windows XP Professional Service Pack 3 (build 2600) IBM 26458PU
    System Serial Number: 78YLYA4
    Enclosure Type: Notebook
    Processor a Main Circuit Board b
    500 megahertz Intel Pentium III
    32 kilobyte primary memory cache
    256 kilobyte secondary memory cache Board: IBM 26458PU
    Serial Number: J1BM59704KS
    Bus Clock: 100 megahertz
    BIOS: IBM ITET53WW 11/30/1999
    Drives Memory Modules c,d
    12.07 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
    5.41 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space

    TOSHIBA DVD-ROM SD-C2502 [CD-ROM drive]
    3.5" format removeable media [Floppy drive]

    HITACHI_DK23AA-12B [Hard drive] (12.07 GB) -- drive 0, s/n 998481, rev 00XDA0B6, SMART Status: Healthy
    USB Flash Memory USB Device [Hard drive] (509 MB) -- drive 1 128 Megabytes Installed Memory

    Slot 'DIMM 0 ' has 64 MB
    Slot 'DIMM 1 ' is Empty
    Slot 'DIMM 2 ' has 64 MB
    Local Drive Volumes

    c: (NTFS on drive 0) 12.07 GB 5.41 GB free

    Network Drives
    None detected
    Users (mouse over user name for details) Printers
    local user accounts last logon
    Vickie 9/22/2008 3:03:59 PM (admin)
    local system accounts
    Administrator never (admin)
    Guest never
    HelpAssistant never
    SUPPORT_388945a0 never


    Marks a disabled account; Marks a locked account Web Export on LPT1:

    Controllers Display
    Standard floppy disk controller
    Intel(r) 82371AB/EB PCI Bus Master IDE Controller
    Primary IDE Channel [Controller]
    Secondary IDE Channel [Controller] NeoMagic MagicGraph256ZX driver [Display adapter]
    IBM 1024x768 [Monitor] (16.1"vis, August 1999)
    Bus Adapters Multimedia
    Texas Instruments PCI-1450 CardBus Controller (2x)
    Intel(r) 82371AB/EB PCI to USB Universal Host Controller
    VIA Rev 5 or later USB Universal Host Controller (2x)
    VIA USB Enhanced Host Controller Crystal SoundFusion(tm) Audio Device
    Crystal SoundFusion(tm) Game Port
    Crystal SoundFusion(tm) WDM Interface
    Communications Other Devices
    Lucent Win Modem
    Network Card MAC Address: 00:00:00:00:00:00 Microsoft AC Adapter
    Microsoft ACPI-Compliant Control Method Battery
    IBM ThinkPad Fast Infrared Port
    Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
    Logitech-compatible Mouse PS/2
    USB Mass Storage Device
    USB
    NAME OF ISP: Windstream.net (aka. Alltel.net)
    BROAD BAND MODEM: SiemensSpeedstream 4200 (my house)
    Also have tried thru lucent dial up modem.
    (in her house she has ALVARION BREEZE ACCESS/w/ Netgear wireless router MR814V2 using wep)
    Have tried wired, dial up, wireless. Can connect to server, just cannot get on line.
    BROWSER: IE7
    After getting "Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage" I click on diagnose connection the message I was getting I am unable to get today, but it was something that 'windows was unable to diagnose problem and to contact the xp service provider for help"
    .IIhave tried the ping- 4 sent 0 done
    did a winsock repair
    did a ipconfig /flushdns---
    did a ipconfig /all

    Am having to use my desktop to post this.
    unable to get the other computer to try to get on line so will have to post the ipconfig later.

    Sorry this is so long, thanks for the help tho.
    Vicks
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I have no use for the Belarc information, but I do need what I asked for. ;)
     
  6. s.haulk

    s.haulk

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Just remove SP3. It is in your add/remove programs.
     
  7. vicks

    vicks Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    5,145
    John Will,
    Sorry, I thought the Belarc would tell you that information.

    I is an IBM 26458PU notebook
    ISP: windstream.net (aka alltel.net)
    BROADBAN MODEM: Siemens SpeedStream 4200
    OS; WIN XP PRO SP3 (problem started before I put SP3 on, thought maybe it would help)
    This is what is used at our place.
    At the daughter's home we tried to connect thru the wireless system:
    ALVARION Breeze Access
    NETGEAR Wireless MR814V2 (her desktop and newer laptop have no trouble with it)
    It is set up with WEP

    A few minutes ago, I was able to hookup directly with the SpeedStream modem via USB cable. System is slow but it did hook up.

    Had tried it before w/o success... Also yesterday we tried connecting via dial up w/o success although all other computers we tried worked fine.

    Since I was able to connect to the modem (speedstream one) I did not receive the connection error from Windows. Do you still want me to do the ipconfig and ping items?
    Thank you so much for your expertice and patience. I have learned A LOT from your postings since I joined the forum.
    vicks
     
  8. vicks

    vicks Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    5,145
    Something else: last night after I posted, I did remove ZoneAlarm and reinstall it, perhaps that was the problem child?
    VICKS
     
  9. vicks

    vicks Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    5,145
    A bit ago I had trouble again so here is what I was able to get for you.



    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\melody>PING 206.190.60.37

    Pinging 206.190.60.37 with 32 bytes of data:

    Destination host unreachable.
    Destination host unreachable.
    Destination host unreachable.
    Destination host unreachable.

    Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Documents and Settings\melody>PING yahoo.com
    Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.


    C:\Documents and Settings\melody>NBTSTAT -n

    Wireless Network Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [169.254.158.160] Scope Id: []

    NetBIOS Local Name Table

    Name Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    THINKPAD <00> UNIQUE Registered
    THINKPAD <20> UNIQUE Registered
    MSHOME <00> GROUP Registered
    MSHOME <1E> GROUP Registered
    MSHOME <1D> UNIQUE Registered
    ..__MSBROWSE__.<01> GROUP Registered

    C:\Documents and Settings\melody>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : thinkpad
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NETGEAR MA401 Wireless PC Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-09-5B-25-3E-91
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.158.160
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    C:\Documents and Settings\melody>

    DIAGNOSIS:
    Cotact the company that provides your windows XP product. You can also use another computer to visit online support services on the microsoft website: http://supportmicrosoft.com/winxp
    Again MANY THANKS!!!!!
    Vicks
     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You have no connection to the router in that IPCONFIG. Since this is a random event, I'd suspect wireless interference as my top suspect. I'm assuming from the last post that this issue comes and goes, based on your comment: A bit ago I had trouble again so here is what I was able to get for you.

    I'd start with the router.

    Some things you can try here.

    1. For wireless connections, change the channel on the router, I like channels 1, 6, and 11 in the US.
    2. For wireless connections, try moving either the wireless router/AP or the wireless computer. Even a couple of feet will sometimes make a big difference.
    3. Update the firmware to the latest version available on the manufacturer's site.
    4. Reset the router to factory defaults and reconfigure.

    Many times these measures will resolve a lot of intermittent issues.
     
  11. vicks

    vicks Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    5,145
    MY APOLOGIES TO YOU!
    I just re read your posting...I am so sorry, I failed to mention to you that that ipconfig was done at my home on the dsl modem. The wireless router is at our daughter's home. However, we are having the same connection problems on the wireless, dial up or my dsl modem.
    I really do appreciate the time you have taken with me on this subject.
    Vicks
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,217
    First Name:
    Terry
    Please explain "on the dsl modem." Other than the failed attempt to communicate with a wireless signal there is no evidence of an ethernet or USB connection to a modem.
     
  13. vicks

    vicks Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    5,145
    Good evening Terry.
    here is the excerpt from my post #7

    "it is an IBM 26458PU notebook
    ISP: windstream.net (aka alltel.net)
    BROADBAN MODEM: Siemens SpeedStream 4200
    OS; WIN XP PRO SP3 (problem started before I put SP3 on, thought maybe it would help)
    This is what is used at our place."

    Appreciate any help any of you guys/gals can give me.
    Vicks
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,217
    First Name:
    Terry
    The SpeedStream 4200 is not wireless, right? Your post # 9 shows an attempted wireless connection, NO USB, NO ethernet. I still don't understand how you were trying to connect.
     
  15. vicks

    vicks Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    5,145
    Sorry to be so unclear in my postings. Will try to clarify it now.
    This laptop is my daughter's, (she is giving it to us). I first tried to go on line with it at her house via the wireless system:
    ALVARION Breeze Access
    NETGEAR Wireless MR814V2 (her desktop and newer laptop have no trouble with it)
    It is set up with WEP. Could connect to her router but not get on line.

    Then I brought it to our house and installed my isp's broadband on it and tried to connect using:
    ISP: windstream.net (aka alltel.net)
    BROADBAN MODEM: Siemens SpeedStream 4200 (via usb because no ethernet port)
    OS; WIN XP PRO SP3 (problem started before I put SP3 on, thought maybe it would help) Could not get on line.
    Also tried going on with dial up with isp. When Windows diagnosis ran this is the message I got:
    Cotact the company that provides your windows XP product. You can also use another computer to visit online support services on the microsoft website: http://supportmicrosoft.com/winxp.

    This evening I reinstalled the cd for the dsl broadband here at my house, was able to connect to the internet but terribly slow only 10mbps (my desk top that I am using now is 100mbps) I am beginning to think that this laptop is a losing thing.
    Also am getting a lot of 'not responding' notices with programs.
    Thanks for your attempt to help. Hope I made the situation clearer.
    vicks
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/752159

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice