1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: unable to connect to some wifi connections

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jdavies, Oct 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jdavies

    jdavies Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Hi,

    I have just moved homes and I am unable to connect wirelessly to the internet through the network in my new house. The computer is connected to the network with excellent signal strength but access shows as local only and will not connect to the internet.

    All other computers have been able to connect to the internet with no problems, and my computer will connect to other wifi connections, no problem. I can connect with a wire directly to the router, but no luck with wifi. I have also had this problem with one previous wifi network.

    I have tried many things, including taking the compter to a computer shop for them to look at and having another professional look at it, but so far no luck.

    Any help will be greatly appreciated!

    Thanks!

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
    OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium , 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T5550 @ 1.83GHz, x64 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 13
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 2037 Mb
    Graphics Card: Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family, 448 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 102720 MB, Free - 27457 MB; D: Total - 11750 MB, Free - 1681 MB;
    Motherboard: Hewlett-Packard, 30D9, 83.21, CND8173S5Q
    Antivirus: AVG Anti-Virus Free, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled
     
  2. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Chuck Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    49,399
    HI jdavies, and welcome to TSG.

    When you say "All other computers have been able to connect" are at least some of the computers using WiFi?

    Have you checked if the wireless router/access point has any kind of access filtering in place that may be blocking your computer.

    Assuming the wireless router/access point is using an encrypted wireless connection, try temporarily turning encryption off and see if you can connect.
     
  3. jdavies

    jdavies Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Hi, Sorry, Yes the other computers are connected through the WIFI.

    I'm not sure how to check if the wireless router/access point has access filtering other than I know it has a password, which I have entered and connected successful. The computer will connect to the router, but will not connect to the internet (see screenshot attached).

    Sorry for my ignorance, but can anyone tell me how to turn off any encryption on the router?
    Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  4. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Chuck Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    49,399
    In order to check the router/access point for any filtering, you will usually need to log into the device's administration pages. This typically requires a user name and password. The admin access password is probably different than the WiFi password. If the router/access point is also your modem, there may be a label on the back or bottom with the information.

    You will also need to know the IP address of the router/access point. You can get this information while you have a working wired connection to the device. Open the Windows Vista command prompt and enter the following command: IPCONFIG . Note the gateway address that is reported. Then, open your web browser and type the gateway address in the browser's address bar. You should get prompts asking for the user name and password. The exact way to find out which screen has the filtering depends on the brand and model of device.

    Since you seem to be connecting OK wirelessly to the device, there is no need to go through the disabling of encryption.
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,547
    Is that an assumption, Chuck, or did you see something that I missed? :)

    Windows and a lot of users will say "connected to the network with excellent signal strength" to mean only that the adapter is broadcasting on the same channel as the router (or access point). That condition includes a good connection (with communication), failure to get a Dhcp response (169.254.x.y IP) and an invalid static IP.

    Bottom line: I still think trying w/o encryption as well as checking the MAC Address filtering is a good idea. :)
     
  6. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Chuck Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    49,399
    My assumption was that the screencap showing a "Disconnect" option meant that the computer had successfully completed encryption verification and had full communications with the router / or access point -AND- had a valid IP address. Thank you for the clarification.
     
  7. jdavies

    jdavies Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Hi,

    I have the admin username and password, and did the IPCONFIG command and got a "Default Gateway" IP address, is this the one you mean? It is the same as the web address listed on our modem. However, when I typed this into the address bar (on both my computer connected to the internet with a cable, and another computer that is connected wirelessly) I got "Internet displorer cannot display webpage".

    Ideas?

    Thanks again!
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,547
    Possibly; not sure on that particular window. :)

    For the computer with internet access that cannot access the router ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  9. jdavies

    jdavies Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Jennie>ipconfig/all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Jennie-laptop
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007 802.11b/g WiFi Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-E1-02-8A-51
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.12(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 04 October 2011 18:21:54
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 04 October 2011 19:21:54
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 194.168.4.100
    194.168.8.100
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet
    NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-EC-21-A7-6F
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::19b5:615c:b020:37d4%8(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.11(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 04 October 2011 18:22:06
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 04 October 2011 19:22:06
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 201333560
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 194.168.4.100
    194.168.8.100
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{1B476100-CBD2-4DB2-B7ED-0C4B02C3B
    D76}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.0.11%11(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 194.168.4.100
    194.168.8.100
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{83FE1057-FBA5-41A1-B479-99214CF43
    AA8}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.0.12%13(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 194.168.4.100
    194.168.8.100
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    C:\Users\Jennie>




    Thanks!
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,547
    The following was put together mostly by etaf with a little help from me.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Atheros AR5007EG & AR5007
    We have recently been seeing a lot of problems with the above adapters over many months, mainly concerning WPA and WPA2 encryption and windows Vista.

    The adapter gets an IP configuration, and shows as connected, but communication is non-existent or sporadic.

    Log into the Router and disable the wireless security and see if you are now able to connect to the internet and surf OK.
    --- Please post back here if that
    works or does not work.


    Here are a number of possible solutions

    --- 1) In Device Manager right click on the wireless adapter and "update driver." That apparently has worked for some posters.

    --- 2) Download and install the latest wireless driver from your laptop manufacturer's web site support section, as some manufactures, appear to now have a working driver available.
    Toshiba - update has worked for some PCs
    HP The latest HP Atheros driver dated Sept 2010 has fixed the issue - so check the driver date, However, that does NOT apply to all HPs / Compaqs machines
    - the poster did an online scan for driver updates on the HP website here HP Product Detection which resulted in a solution. Solved: Can't connect to internet wirelessly - Atheros AR5007 Wifi through Clear Comm - Tech Support Guy Forums

    If you can post the Make and EXACT model of your PC here, along with the windows version you have and we will see if we can find the driver and will post a link as a reply here.

    --- 3) On one occasion re-setting the router back to factory default and re-configuring the router settings has resolved the issue

    --- 4) A few posters here with the same issue have found that the driver from this site ATHEROS drivers for Microsoft Windows resolved the issue
    Threads are here
    Solved: Public Network - Access: Local Only (Please help!) - Tech Support Guy Forums
    Solved: NetGear WNDR3700 Incompatibilty W/ Atheros AR5700 - Tech Support Guy Forums
    Solved: Local connection only when connected to secured wirless - Tech Support Guy Forums
    Solved: Unidentified Network - Tech Support Guy Forums
    Unidentified Network


    I do NOT know anything about the site mentioned ATHEROS drivers for Microsoft Windows

    However, if you do decide to try the driver, Please let us know the outcome

    Direct link to the drivers are below
    You only need to click on the green download button labelled " click to download " and wait, the file will download - you do not need to click on any other buttons to get the download started

    AR5007
    Vista 32 Bit
    Drivers for Atheros AR5007 and Windows Vista
    Although this driver has shown up in BSODs (Blue Screen Of Death) on Vista SP2 systems, usually conflicting with updated Vista OS drivers like netio.sys, tcpip.sys and other networking related drivers.

    AR5007EG
    Vista 32 Bit
    Drivers for Atheros AR5007EG and Windows Vista


    Assuming that after all the above the wireless still does not connect to the internet, all I can suggest is to use wireless security of WEP or to get an external USB wireless card.

    You might also bug your laptop's tech support about the problem--maybe people can put pressure on Atheros to find a fix.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  11. jdavies

    jdavies Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Solved! Thank you so much for your help!

    I wasn't able to log into the router for some reason, but I updated the driver and that did work. Thanks again!
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,547
    You're welcome. :) Glad we could help you. And, for the record, Chuck was right--you did have a good connection to the router. (y)
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1020390