1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: unable to connect to wifi

Discussion in 'Networking' started by LADYBIRD71, Feb 5, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. LADYBIRD71

    LADYBIRD71 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Hi

    I have installed a TP Link W8960N router and it is working fine using the ethernet cable. I have installed a realtek 11n USB adapter but cannot get it to connect to the router.

    I uninstalled and reinstalled the software and whereas previously today it found my router (but wouldn't connect it says not associated) when I search now it doesnt even come up!

    Windows device manager says the adpater is working properly

    When installing router and adapter I set them both to WPA2 and used the same passkey.
    I am using Windows 7

    Please can someone advise

    thanks
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,877
    remove the security from the wireless and see if that connects

    lets see the following with the adapter connected

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.


    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://wpc.475a.edgecastcdn.net/00475A/XirrusWiFiInspectorSetup.1.2.0.exe

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. LADYBIRD71

    LADYBIRD71 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    here's the first lot of data requested

    sorry for sounding a bit dense but do you mean turn the security off the router or the adapter? I've done neither yet, and how would I do it?

    am off to get the second lots of data

    thanks for your help



    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : alex-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 48-02-2A-19-AE-79
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8191SU Wireless LAN 802.11n USB 2.0 Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 48-02-2A-19-AE-79
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 90-FB-A6-4C-A7-91
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::e09d:9046:573c:fec4%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 05 February 2012 14:38:23
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 06 February 2012 14:56:59
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 194050982
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-3A-21-6B-90-FB-A6-4C-A7-91
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{630B0848-6F28-42E6-9CB7-E84D3784B2F1}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fd:cf8:836:a1fe:1340(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::cf8:836:a1fe:1340%13(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{F814E541-9B42-465F-B1A3-6CF6BB328D3B}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{622A3E0C-56CA-4840-B7F4-E8F018341F0D}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  4. LADYBIRD71

    LADYBIRD71 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Hi I have obtained the xirrus details. realtek is my adapter and ladybird is my ssid

    ( I noticed on the notepad details for the ipconfig that I posted that another wifi connection appears which must be an integral one inside computer which I wasnt aware of - could this one be used instead??? ) sorry am not very technical as Im sure youve gathered!

    i hope the attachment has attached!
     

    Attached Files:

  5. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,877
    at least we know it can pick up the wireless signal via the adapter

    from the router - you will need to log into the router configuration pages to switch the security off

    did you also install a wireless utility with the adapter at all ?

    what firewall security suite do you have on the PC - old version of norton,mcafee which came with the PC at all

    lets try a tcp/ip reset
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    and press enter

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    and press enter

    Reboot the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Please note and post back - if you receive the message
    Access is Denied

    Post back the results here - we need to know these commands worked correctly
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. LADYBIRD71

    LADYBIRD71 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>netsh winsock reset catalog

    Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    Reseting Interface, OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.


    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    There's no user specified settings to be reset.


    C:\Windows\system32>

    I have rebooted the machine.

    Still doesnt connect with an open network. my ssid comes up in network connections but when i select it it wont connect. wont connect this way using wpa2 and pass key either

    i am running kaspersky this is the free version via Barclays

    i am not sure what a wireless utility is. All I installed with the usb adapter is the software that came on the disk. There were two things to install, PCI-E +PCI wireless Lan card and wireless usb adapter

    thanks for your patience
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,877
    its possible that kaspersky is blocking access - so it would be worth removing and seeing if that helps

    also post the services that are running


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Services

    We would like to see some status information for each of the services listed below to do this goto

    Start> {Run in XP} {Search box in Vista/W7}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:
    SERVICES.MSC
    OR
    Control Panel>
    Administrative Tools>
    Services>

    then for each of the servies listed below - Please post back the following status information -
    If the service is Started/Stopped
    and
    If the service is Automatic/Manual

    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    • Computer Browser
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Windows 7 & Vista wireless configurations only)
    • Workstation


    If a service is not running,
    right click on the service
    then click on properties and now check the dependencies.

    Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running.

    Also to help us identify what may be causing the issue
    Check the event log, there may be clues to what is failing. To do that
    Start >
    control panel >
    administrative tools >
    event Viewer>

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Kaspersky Removal Tool
    A link to Kaspersky - this varies with different versions
    http://support.kaspersky.com/faq/?qid=208279463
    http://support.kaspersky.com/faq/?qid=193239279

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. LADYBIRD71

    LADYBIRD71 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    I will do the above and post back here tomorrow eve

    Thanks
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,877
    see my signature note , i may not be on much during the week, so hopefully will be picked up by other members during the week
     
  10. LADYBIRD71

    LADYBIRD71 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    thanks etaf, hope one of your members can assist thanks.

    I disabled Kaspersky but this made no difference :-(

    Here's the info you have asked for


    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues) started Auto
    • Computer Browser started manual
    • DHCP Client started Auto
    • DNS Client started auto
    • Network Connections started manual
    • Network Location Awareness started auto
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC) started auto
    • Server started auto
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper started auto
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Windows 7 & Vista wireless configurations only) started auto
    • Workstation started auto
    there is a lot of info in the event viewer so not sure what you need to see. I have taken a screen shot of the errors and critical .if this is not right and you wish to see more please let me know


    I have tried using the wifi on the router to connect to my android phone (a HTC) and although it sees Ladybird, asks for the password it comes up as connecting but then says disconnected. So I cannot connect with that either :mad:



    The TP Link router has been used to replace a Sky netgear one if that sheds any light. Took me four days to get it to work via ethernet.....


    thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  11. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,877
    does anything work on the wireless at all ?
    log into the router again and disconnect the wireless security on the router and see if you can then connect
     
  12. LADYBIRD71

    LADYBIRD71 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Hi Etaf

    No nothing seems to work yet it shows up Ladybird on wifi networks on my phone and android tablet with signal strength as Excellent.

    I turned the security off, saved and rebooted router but still wont connect
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,877
    i'm out of ideas really - is it a PC or laptop ?
     
  14. LADYBIRD71

    LADYBIRD71 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Hi Etaf

    I have solved the problem! When I configured router from netgear to tp link I changed the SSID (but not the username password wpa key). Decided to try and see if changing back to the old ssid would make a difference and hey presto it did. it now connects!!!

    BUT......the router is a 300 n (supposed to be a good un fast wise) and the adapter is 300 too however the internet isnt very fast (not many programs running on this computer) even tho at the mo router is right next to pc. I looked at the configuration page for the adapter and it says speed is 56 :-( how do I get it run at a faster speed?

    Thanks for all your help
     
  15. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,877
    Should have picked up the new name - may need the profiles removed any all working now

    56Mbps should be quite fast - what download speed are you paying for on your broadband connection ?

    who is the ISP - are you on cable ?

    54Mbps - would mean its a setting possible on "G" rather than "N"
    you may want to look at the router wireless settings and the adapter setting and see if there is G only set - although xirrus shows up as N
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1039634