Solved: unable to connect wirelessly

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

megan1234

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 5, 2011
Messages
15
i am unable to connect wirelessly my wireless connection is not showing under the available connections and i can onhy connect hardwired via my router i have done simple troubleshooting with no results i have also tried to go to routerlogin.com and .net and i cant access them i have also done the pinging and everything seems to be in order what are my next steps
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2001
Messages
6,523
Hi:Let's make sure that all necessary tasks are enabled.



Check your Services are Started on all PCs:
• COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
• Computer Browser
• DHCP Client
• DNS Client
• Network Connections
• Network Location Awareness
• Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
• Server
• TCP/IP Netbios helper
• Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations)
• WLAN AutoConfig (Vista wireless configurations)
• Workstation

Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic
If a service is not running, open it's properties and check the dependencies. Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running. Checking the event log is also a good idea here, there may be clues to what is failing.
__________________


Then let's see:
Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)



In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.

And I am assuming that the pinging was done through the hardwired lan connection.
Any error msgs when you try the wireless connection?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,456
make sure you have not switched off the wireless adapter - lots of laptops have a switch to turn the wireless off
others in addition to the other information post a xirrus screen shot

------------------------------------------------------------------------
{run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
Then run and install the program
if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

Run the program

post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

megan1234

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 5, 2011
Messages
15
first off thank you for the replys i appreciate it this has been going on for over a week and its frustrating. i wsent thru the services and some things were manual i changed them to automatic the one thing i couldnt find was the wireless zero config


here are the config/all results
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
C:\Users\MEGAN>ipconfig/all
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : MEGAN-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8191SE Wireless LAN 802.11n PC
I-E NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 20-7C-8F-02-F4-9A
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8152 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Contro
ller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C8-0A-A9-6C-02-DD
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.2(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, January 16, 2011 12:49:34 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 17, 2011 12:49:36 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
Tunnel adapter isatap.{E91ADCF6-4917-44C6-8149-821A2CEF9E50}:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter isatap.{5748E386-47E2-4880-B99D-CCE2AB785B96}:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:877:3fad:9ced:4e77(Prefe
rred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::877:3fad:9ced:4e77%14(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
C:\Users\MEGAN>


and yes pinging was done thru wired connection
 

megan1234

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 5, 2011
Messages
15
heres the wifi inspector i dont see my wireless name but i am assumming its the netgear unsecured one bein that the first ive seen that connections around here
 

Attachments

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,456
i wsent thru the services and some things were manual i changed them to automatic the one thing i couldnt find was the wireless zero config
wireless zero config = not on vista is part of XP, you should have WLAN AutoConfig
The important thing is where they started ?

whats the make and model of the router ?

anything else connected to the wireless ?


you have a ip for ethernet are you connected by etherenet cable OK
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,955
heres the wifi inspector i dont see my wireless name but i am assumming its the netgear
That's a bad assumption, especially if you don't even have a Netgear router. :)

What is your SSID and what is the brand and model of your router?
 

megan1234

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 5, 2011
Messages
15
its a netgear router and i have windows 7
someone told me it has something to do with my isp being att and my router having the same ip address as my modem but guess what i just came home my cell alerted me a connection was available and it was that netgear connection so i tried to connect using my laptop and it said it was a new router that needed set up and to type in security key so i did and now i am connected wirelessly im not sure how it was resolved but it is do you guys have any ideas why it would all of sudden come back up so if it happens again i have a quicker resolution. maybe changing the things from manual to auto fixed it im not to sure how all this stuff works i am learning as i go
 

megan1234

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 5, 2011
Messages
15
ps i really appreciate the time you have given this issue my own router manufacturer wouldnt help lol you guys are awesome
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top