1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: unable to contact your DHCP server. Request has timed out.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by hankinpgh, Mar 27, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hankinpgh

    hankinpgh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    i opened a command prompt and did ipconfig/release then ipconfig/renew and this message came up: An error occurred while renewing interface Wireless Connection : unable to contact your DHCP server. Request has timed out.

    I have:
    windows 7
    actiontec GT784WN modem with verizon dsl
    using wpa/wpa2
    acer az1620 computer with realtek pcie gbe family controller

    I cannot connect wired or wireless. My other desktop connects fine wired and other laptop connects fine wireless.

    here are results from ipconfig/all:


    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Owner-1>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Computer
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C8-9C-DC-2E-53-79
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Ralink 802.11n Wireless LAN Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 74-DE-2B-12-18-3F
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::fc9e:4a7d:2db9:6d1%11(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.6.209(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 393535019
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1A-C6-04-C4-74-DE-2B-12-18-3F

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{7E3BAEF3-CE0A-45E3-9470-6EC523BC1092}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{5F6D1898-1B65-4A1F-83D3-705F93A64A18}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Owner-1>

    Can anyone help me connect with this computer. I only paid a couple hundred bucks for it....lol.
    Thank you very much
     
  2. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    31,890
    First Name:
    James
    Is the wireless connection established? As in does is show connected to your router?
     
  3. hankinpgh

    hankinpgh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    yes, I can connect to the router wired and wireless....i just cant connect to the internet.
     
  4. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    31,890
    First Name:
    James
    This this from TerryNet

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista and 7 and 8.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt. [For Windows 8: <Windows Logo> + x - Command Prompt(Admin)]

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  5. hankinpgh

    hankinpgh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Thank you sir...I previously tried this and just did again with the same outcome. I still cannot connect.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    75,953
    First Name:
    Terry
    Please show an ipconfig /all for the above condition. In your initial post you had "Media disconnected" for the ethernet and for the Wi-Fi you were probably using the same channel as the router but there was no communication.
     
  7. hankinpgh

    hankinpgh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Computer
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C8-9C-DC-2E-53-79
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::94e8:9ee1:2b4a:555c%14(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.85.92(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 533241052
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1A-C6-04-C4-74-DE-2B-12-18-3F

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Ralink 802.11n Wireless LAN Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 74-DE-2B-12-18-3F
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::fc9e:4a7d:2db9:6d1%11(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.6.209(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 393535019
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1A-C6-04-C4-74-DE-2B-12-18-3F

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{7E3BAEF3-CE0A-45E3-9470-6EC523BC1092}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{5F6D1898-1B65-4A1F-83D3-705F93A64A18}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Windows\system32>
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    75,953
    First Name:
    Terry
    You're not getting communication with the router--at least not getting a response to your Dhcp request. Make sure the router's Dhcp server is enabled, and there is space in the address range.

    What firewall or security suite is, or ever was, on the system?
     
  9. hankinpgh

    hankinpgh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Dhcp server is enabled and there is space. It has Mcafee...
    I just noticed that mcafee firewall is turned off and it won't let me turn it on...also windows firewall gives me a message that it's "not using the recommended settings to protect computer" and when i click to "use recommended settings", it doesn't correct it. When I go to advanced settings in windows firewall i have an error code 0x6d9..."windows firewall with advanced security snap-in failed to load"
     
  10. hankinpgh

    hankinpgh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Dhcp server is enabled and there is space. It has Mcafee...
    I just noticed that mcafee firewall is turned off and it won't let me turn it on...also windows firewall gives me a message that it's "not using the recommended settings to protect computer" and when i click to "use recommended settings", it doesn't correct it. When I go to advanced settings in windows firewall i have an error code 0x6d9..."windows firewall with advanced security snap-in failed to load"
     
  11. hankinpgh

    hankinpgh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    I think i found a fix for my firewall problem on microsoft website, but how do i download it if i can't connect to the internet? I can't figure out how to turn windows firewall off. I can't get past the message that tells me its not using the recommended settings.
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    75,953
    First Name:
    Terry
    First uninstall McAfee and run the Removal Tool. You can reinstall that if desired after you get networking going again.

    There is no need to turn the Windows firewall off (unless you are using another firewall), and the message about "settings" may be because McAfee has turned the Windows firewall off.
     
  13. hankinpgh

    hankinpgh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    BINGO! lol. I figured it was something simple. Thanks to you both for all of the help.
    I have to start a new thread later for my son's laptop. thanks again.
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    75,953
    First Name:
    Terry
    You're welcome. :)
     
  15. johnnydg

    johnnydg

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Hello: I found this thread by searching for the string, "Unable to contact your DHCP server. Request has timed out." which is an error message I have been dealing with for more hours than I would like to admit.

    To the point, removing McAfee immediately solved the problem for my Ethernet and Wireless adapters. I haven't reloaded McAfee yet but wanted to say thanks for showing me the way to a potential solution.

    Is there a short answer as to why McAfee caused this problem? I've always been big fan of McAfee and never would have suspected it was the root of my problem.

    Thanks again,
    Johnny
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1122889

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice