1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Unable to detect my own wireless network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jeromecqy, Dec 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jeromecqy

    jeromecqy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    I have used the network for the last hour but after this reboot i cannot detect my network
    Anyone can help me with this?
     
  2. VictoriaiiCe

    VictoriaiiCe

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    684
    What is listed in Device Manager under Network Adapters? Any errors or warnings on those or anything else in Device Manager?

    Let's see this as well.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.
     
  3. dlsayremn

    dlsayremn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,862
    What did you reboot, computer or modem/router?
    Any other networks showing?
     
  4. jeromecqy

    jeromecqy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    victoria-i cannot post it here as i cannot connect to internet the device mgr show that everything is fine
    dlsayremn-the computer yes others are showing like normal..the neighbour's wifi
    Jashandeep-i cannot detect the network so i cannot check??
     
  5. dlsayremn

    dlsayremn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,862
    If you can see other networks, it would indicate that your wireless adapter is working.

    Can you do a wired (ethernet) connection to the router to see if that works?
    Do you have access to another computer that has a working internet connection?

    Information for wireless connections such as ipconfig /all results can be pasted into Notepad and saved as text files. These files can then be opened and copied here using a wired connection or loaded onto a USB drive and posted using another computer.


    Another way to get information for posting here is to take screenshots of things like Device Manager, Properties Windows, etc. The saved jpeg files can be posted as below..

    How to Make and Post Screenshots:
    You can make screenshots to post here instead of typing everything..
    To make and save a picture of the present screen
    Hold the Alt key down and hit the PrintScreen key.
    Open Paint (under Accessories) and click Edit, Paste.
    Click file, Save and save the picture to My Pictures as a .jpeg image.
    If the computer doesn't have an internet connection, save to a USB drive.

    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply (Advanced) window and use the paperclip (Manage Attachments button) at top of window. In the small window click the browse button and go to where you saved the screenshot and click on that file. Then click on the Upload button to attach the file.
     
  6. jeromecqy

    jeromecqy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    i can connect with other device.(my phone)
    Oh ya ..an ethernet connection works fine..
    I will post the imges and txt later i will now go for my breakfast
     
  7. jeromecqy

    jeromecqy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Device manager and ipconfig /all
     

    Attached Files:

  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,171
    First Name:
    Terry
    With your Vista laptop with integrated wireless you can detect some Wi-Fi networks but not your own; you can connect to your router via ethernet.

    With your phone you can detect your wireless network and connect to it.

    Are the above two sentences an accurate summary?

    Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector.
     
  9. jeromecqy

    jeromecqy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    yes.it's true
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,171
    First Name:
    Terry
    Some additional questions to go with the Xirrus screen shot ...

    What Wi-Fi channels are legal in your region?
    What channels are supported by your wireless adapter currently?
    What channel are you using for your network?
     
  11. jeromecqy

    jeromecqy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    From xirrus..
    my network use channel 6 as default |
    i ought that my wifi supports channel 6 as i can recieve other's network with channel 6
    well my region is most likely legal for channel 1-13(i'm not really sure but it doesn't matter right?)
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1030436

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice