Solved: Unable to detect my own wireless network.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jeromecqy

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Messages
27
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Ultimate, Service Pack 1, 32 bit
Processor: Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU T4200 @ 2.00GHz, x64 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 10
Processor Count: 2
RAM: 3035 Mb
Graphics Card: Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family, 1293 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 232958 MB, Free - 127089 MB; D: Total - 5503 MB, Free - 5460 MB;
Motherboard: Compal, 3607
Antivirus: Kingsoft AntiVirus Auto-Protect, Updated: No, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled
_____________________________________________________________________________________________
I can't detect my own wireless network for days
anyone can help me with this?


Information:I can see neighbour's networkw with the computer i can't detect my own network
I can see my own network with my other computer and mobile phone
An ethernet connection works fine on the computer
My network uses channel 6 as dedault
my computer supports channel 6 as my neighbour are some channel 6 and i can detect
3 attatchment of xirrus Wi-Fi inspector,"Ipconfig /all" for CMD and Device manager.
 

Attachments

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
I can see my own network with my other computer and mobile phone
can we see an xirrus screen shot from the other computer and also the name of your network

you should be able to use all channels 1 -11

i dont see any one using channel 6
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
that wireless is on auto and has changed since the last xirrus screen shot

i dont see that SSID listed , as requested
can we see an xirrus screen shot from the other computer
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
you ssid is not listed there - can you click on networks top of screen to show all networks
 

jeromecqy

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Messages
27
I'm sorry.. my network isn't channel 6
i Enabled Auto channel selection
and the wireless channel was greyed and i tot it was 6
so..it is auto channel seleCtion..
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
channel 13 is not support in all countries
its ok in
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_WLAN_channels
but where was the non-working laptop purchased - is it possible that's the issue

log into the router and set the wireless channel to channel 1
now post an xirrus screen shot from both - make sure we can see all the networks - by clicking on the network top left hand side
 

jeromecqy

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Messages
27
channel 13 is not support in all countries
its ok in
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_WLAN_channels
but where was the non-working laptop purchased - is it possible that's the issue

log into the router and set the wireless channel to channel 1
now post an xirrus screen shot from both - make sure we can see all the networks - by clicking on the network top left hand side
P.S:I guess no need to get SS again as it work for both computer now
Just to gain more knowledge:Dubai and arab emirates ? i tot it say "Most of the world" 1-13 "Yes"
and why do my network uses channel 13 and my computer can connect? is it illegal?
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
but not america , wasnt sure where the kit was purchased and if there was any issues on the adapter in use - only reason I posted , as it does not make much sense if the adapter can detect wireless but not yours

hence the suggestion to put on 1 and to see an xirrus from both PCs
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top