1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Unable to find wireless networks.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by RDKx, Jan 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. RDKx

    RDKx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Hello, I have a laptop that won't find any networks, it did work a few days ago now it's just randomly stopped.

    Things I've tried;
    -Changing the wireless to different channels.
    -System restore to a few days before.
    -Check and restarted the wzc serice mutiple times.
    -Check the drivers are ok.

    I'm lost.

    Thanks in advance,
    Ryan
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,203
    First Name:
    Wayne
    make and model of the router you have
    have you switched the wireless off at all - often have a switch or a combination of FN + F key to toggle on/off
    make and model of PC

    can we see an ipconfig /all and xirrus


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {ipconfig /all}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
    -> Start
    -> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all
    -> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all

    A black box will appear on the screen -
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy

    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
    Then run and install the program
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. RDKx

    RDKx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Make/Model of laptop: Toshiba Satelite A100-756
    Make/Model of router: Sagem from sky, can't find a model number on the case or in the router settings.

    Ipconfig:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
    C:\Documents and Settings\User>ipconfig /all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : user-2e0b46e4ef
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : home
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connecti
    on
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-A0-D1-46-97-89
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.4
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 17 January 2011 12:30:30
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 18 January 2011 12:30:30
    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Networ
    k Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-02-90-CA-C5
    C:\Documents and Settings\User>

    Xirrus: No networks avaliable (Even though I am right next to my router atm on the network cable.)

    [​IMG]
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,203
    First Name:
    Wayne
    do you have any other devices that can see your wireless network are there any others in the area

    has the wireless been switched OFF - Toshibas often have a physical switch on the front and an LED to show if on or off
     
  5. RDKx

    RDKx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Yeah I'm online atm with another laptop an Iphone 4 can find it and a Nokia N900. I went into advanced settings on the wireless connection and it came up with a HP style thing saying it was enabled.

    There is an Fn style key to turn it on and off, but alas it doesn't work. There isn't an LED on there to show wireless is on. Just the usual, Charging/Power/Low Battery/HDD etc. :\
     
  6. RDKx

    RDKx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    If I go: Network connections - Right Click on Wireless - Properties - Then configure.

    It opens an Intel bit with things like 'Wireless on/off', Ad Hoc Channel, Ad Hoc QoS Mode, Mixed mode protection etc.

    I've put the router on channel 6, and set the Ad Hoc channel to 6 and searched again with no luck.

    The network card is: Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection.
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,203
    First Name:
    Wayne
    it should all be set to infrastructure
    the fact that xirrus cannot see it seems to indicate a basic flaw with the adapter
    if you go into the bios /set as the machine starts up - F2, F10 or Del key
    is wireless disabled in any of those configuration pages

    Thats also indicating something is not right with the software/hardware

    have you tried updating the driver from the toshiba site

    As you are on XP try this software
    http://www.stumbler.net/
    righthand side = netstumber 0.4.0
    post back a screen shot
     
  8. RDKx

    RDKx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Right I googled the network adapter, went on the intel site, downloaded their network manager and it said 'Wi-fi on' but it also said 'hardware radio switch off' So I had an indepth examination and found there is indeed a tiny hardware network switch on the right edge at the bottom near the user, what a silly place to put it! Anyways I am sorry for wasting your time Mr Etaf and thanks for your help! :D
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,203
    First Name:
    Wayne
    no problem - didn't waste time - good to know still have a switch on - yep, they are in silly places and toshiba can be very small

    glad its all working now - and the results make a little more sense :)
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/975047

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice