1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Unable to launch application

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by ljsurfas, May 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ljsurfas

    ljsurfas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    My machine is a 5 year old Dell Dimension 8300 running Windows XP Home Edition, Service Pack 3. When I turn the computer on I get this message: C:\Program Files\Dell Support Center\gs_agent\dsc.exe

    Unable to launch applicatioon. Please restart and try again. Error code: 2147023174

    When I restart, I get the same message.

    Outlook Express and Firefox will not run, but I can use Word. When I open a Word document, I get the message This document could not be registered. It will not be possible to create links from other documents to this document.
     
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,517
  3. ljsurfas

    ljsurfas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    MacBoatmaster: Thank you for the suggestion. I will try it out.
     
  4. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,517
    If that does not work.
    Open My Computer.
    Right click on the HDD with Windows.
    Click Properties
    Click Tools
    Click Check Now on Error checking
    Check the box automatically fix file system errors
    Click Start.
    You will receive a message saying Cannot run now reschedule for next start.
    Agree and restart.
    DO NOT INTERRUPT DO NOT SWITCH OFF.
    It will take sometime.
     
  5. ljsurfas

    ljsurfas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Your solution requires Internet Explorer, but I can't access the Internet. I'll try your later suggestion involving the HDD with Windows. FYI I'm using a computer at the local library to get my email and use this website. Thanks for your help.
     
  6. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,517
    Very sorry, forgot you could not access the internet.
     
  7. ljsurfas

    ljsurfas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    The procedure "automatically fix file system errors" ran ok, but I get the same error messages on startup.

    I don't think this is relevant, but on startup I've been getting the message "Alert! System battery voltage is low."
    Now it tells me that the time and date are incorrect, which is true now.
     
  8. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,517
  9. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,940
    First Name:
    Frank
    What's the 7-character "service tag number" of that Dell Dimension 8300 desktop?

    ---------------------------------------------------------------

    It's possible that the coin-size CMOS battery on the motherboard needs to be replaced.

    CR2032 is the most common one used, but your computer may use a different one.

    Read here (same link that Macboatmaster provided you with).

    ----------------------------------------------------------------

    Most or all of the Dell-related entries in

    Start - Run - MSCONFIG - OK - Startup(tab)

    Start - Run - SERVICES.MSC - OK

    don't need to auto-load.

    They can be unchecked in the first location and can have "startup type" set on Manual in the second location.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  10. ljsurfas

    ljsurfas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    I have replaced the battery. I also removed a large amount of dirt from the back of the computer. Upon startup, I no longer get the low battery alert, and the time displays correctly. Otherwise, the same messages upon startup.

    I will supply the tag number next time.
     
  11. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,517
  12. ljsurfas

    ljsurfas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    I went to Mozilla Firefox in safe mode and disabled add-ons. Server Not Found

    In Windows Advancd Options Menu I tried Last Known Good Configuration. The desktop icons seemed more complete, but no other noticeable change.
     
  13. schang626

    schang626

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    447
    can u try safe mode with networking?
    do you still get the error message?
    can u browse the web?
     
  14. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,517
    Please go to Control Panel Network Connections and check that you have a connection shown as "Enabled and working correctly"
    Now check that all is correct with the cabling if ethernet connection from the computer to the router or the Wireless.
    Now activate your browser and report what the result is. please.
    Going back to post7 you say chkdsk ran OK, were there reports of any errors.
    Go to Control Panel, Adminstrative Functions, Eevent Viewer and check the logs for System and Applications.
    If you find ones with Warnings, double clcik that entry in Event Viewer and post back the message
    NOT all of them but the ones that are produced when you try above
     
  15. ljsurfas

    ljsurfas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    My PC is protected by McAfee Total Protection 2010, and the solution to the problem came from McAfee, Inc.
    It seems that on April 21st they downloaded a file that caused their software to mistakenly detect a virus.

    I came across an announcement from McAfee to this effect on the Internet and tried the fix that was supplied. It didn't work for me, so I called the phone number provided by McAfee for technical support on this problem. The first call to solve the problem lasted 1 1/2 hours and was unsuccessful, but the second try did the trick.

    The problem has to do with a McAfee DAT folder and an svchost.exe file.

    McAfee has emailed me an apology for the inconvenience and has offered me two years of free protection, which I plan to accept.

    I would like to thank those who offered suggestions, particularly Macboatmaster.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Unable launch
  1. MRB1LL
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    536
  2. mikequest3
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,066
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/920440

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice