1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Unable to reinstall Office 2013 due to the Boostrapper error

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Flybird, May 3, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Flybird

    Flybird Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Hi

    I went to my Word 2013 file and when I pressed on it - I got an error message that word document would not open.

    I tried other word documents and they all do not open and work. I tried also Excel files and they too do not work and open up.

    I then tried to do a repair on Office 2013 by going to computer and pressed on Office 2013 program list and I got an error message that Bootstrapper error message of "Microsoft Setup Bootstrapper has stopped working
    A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close this program and notify you if a solution is available."

    I tried repair several times without much success. I then found on line at https://support.office.com/en-us/ar...77a-8fcc-2fdf5dbf61d8?ui=en-US&rs=en-US&ad=US the idea to run the Microsoft Fix it tool and it successfully uninstalled the entire Office 2013

    Yet after trying to reinstall the office from setup.exe file - I continue to get the Bootstrapper error message

    I found on line - http://www.thewindowsclub.com/microsoft-setup-bootstrapper-stopped-working-installing-office-2013
    that to delete - HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AppCompatFlags key would work and be able to reinstall the office suite since this would take care of the boostrapper issues.

    I backup up the key and tried to delete the key but it would not let me and I got an error message.

    I checked all the permissions on the key and everything looked good. I also made a new admin account and this also did not work. I also tried safe mode and this too did not work.

    I also tried a clean install and this too did not work.

    I need to delete the key and reinstall office 2013

    Any advice and assistance would be super.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,240
    a vanilla install or other software as well by way of programs

    what anti-virus please

    I do not recommend deletion of that key even if you could

    I recommend this

    1. Disable AV and try - if no good go to 2

    2. Clean boot it and try - if no good return to normal boot and move to 3
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/kb/929135

    3. Run this

    http://go.microsoft.com/?linkid=9779673

    and try

    Take each step in turn as explained above please and report the results for each please
     
  3. Flybird

    Flybird Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Hi

    Thanks for all the help and suggestions.

    I have disabled norton completely. I do not have avg on the machine. I have tried it in clean boot and normal boot but neither modes lets me install office 2015.

    I will try the step 3 today and see if this helps.
     
  4. Flybird

    Flybird Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Thanks for all your help

    I was told to delete this reg key since this causing my issues
     
  5. Flybird

    Flybird Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Even Though I deleted the key, the issue still persists
     
  6. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,240
    Have you run the Fixit at 3 on my post


    I never mentioned AVG, I presume you took - disable AV - Antivirus as AVG


    I never thought the registry key delete was a good idea as I said

    Re disable Norton -Not always successful if the free version uninstall it, from programs and features.
    You can always re- install if the installation of Office does not then work

    After uninstalling from programs and features Reboot and run the Norton uninstall tool
    https://support.norton.com/sp/en/uk/home/current/solutions/kb20080710133834EN_EndUserProfile_en_us


    TRY the installation of Office again

    if it is the paid for version ensure you have the means to reinstall


    So to summarise I recommend
    1. The Office uninstall Fixit you used before
    2. REBOOT
    3. The Fixit I sent you
    4. Try the install


    If you still get the bootstrapper error
    I recommend


    1. The uninstall of Norton and run the Norton tool
    2. Reboot
    3. The Office uninstall fixit you previously used
    4. Reboot
    5. The Fixit I sent you
    6. Attempt the reinstall
     
  7. Flybird

    Flybird Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    hi

    Sorry for the delay, Yes I ran #3 and it successfully cleaned out all of office but I still can not install Office 2013 again due to the bootstrapper issue.

    Norton right now is disabled and not functioning as I am in clean mode in Windows. I tried again the installation and it failed again.

    With all that I did, a surprise happened. Now I see that that this file d3d11.dll is causing the bootstrapper not to install as the message shows this file is the cause.. Its in windows/system32

    Is there any advice on how to fix this.
     
  8. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,240
    go to the file in windows
    right click click properties
    click if available the previous versions tab
    see if it finds one
    if it does and it is in a restore point, I will then tell you how to get bit back without doing a system restore




    If there is no previous version try registering the file from a cmd prompt with admin rights
    at the prompt type

    regsvr32 <filename>.dll


    If that does not work go back to the cmd prompt and type
    sfc /scannow


    if there is an error with that file it MAY repair it.


    If that fails go to another windows 7 - (It is 7 is it not) computer - copy the file
    come back to this one
    establish a restore point


    go back to system32
    paste the file
    it will ask do you wish to replace
    YES


    then register it as per the first guide on this post


    I have t say that I do not think that is the cause.

















     
  9. Flybird

    Flybird Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Thanks man for the quick response. I appreciate your help
    The information you provided me is excellent and will see if it resolves this issue that I am having.

    Will keep u posted
     
  10. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,240
    At the risk of annoying you
    WHY do you not first try uninstalling Norton
    If I am wrong there is nothing lost
    As I said before
    Re disable Norton -Not always successful


    and I have seen it many times, but I have to admit not in respect of the Office install
     
  11. Flybird

    Flybird Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Thanks for the quick response. You are not bothering me. I did not want to uninstall Norton as its my ownly protection and its currently disabled now from running. I will see about uninstall Norton.

    I checked on the file, there is not another previous version of this file. I have done sfc/scan now several times and everytime it tells me it find errors and fixes them.

    shall I copy the file from another machine or from my windows disk to the system32 folder in windows
     
  12. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,240
    The fact it is the only AV is not a problem as you can install MSE as a temp measure


    The file as you know is a DirectX3D Version 11 runtime file my file version is 16570
    1470KB


    If it were me I would check the versions - the one on the disc is more likely to be an older version
    Perhaps not even 11 eg the file will not be d3d11.dll
    but I may be wrong

    Please note as I said, I do not think this is the problem


    re your last you have registered it have you

     
  13. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,240
    Just found this

    With some Norton products even if you disable active protection

    More convinced than I was that Norton has to be uninstalled

    That was my recommend on post 6
    If you do and IT works, when I come to the USA you owe me 6 large beers as we are now on post 12
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Flybird

    Flybird Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    I have tried to register the file and copy the file from another machine to the issue computer and it told me for Reg that there is an issue with the server. For the copy and replace it told me that the I could not do it

    Any help
     
  15. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,240
    There is a way to allow you to replace it
    However we are then going into the deeper problem of permissions


    Before we even try and enter that minefield
    enable system account it has more permissions than your admin account
    type or copy and paste this at cmd prompt with admin rights


    net user administrator /active:yes


    press enter reboot and log on to that account
    Unless you have set one for the system account the password is left blank
    When you get to logon screen there will be your account and one simply titled
    Administrator - that is the one you want




    HOWEVER







    Have you seen my previous 13
    I strongly recommend the complete uninstall of Norton and the use of the tool I sent


    If that works the debt has now increased by ONE
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Unable reinstall
  1. pikespeakbob
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    871
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1147676

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice