1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Unable To Reinstall XP Because Installed Version Is Newer Than CD Version

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by HowdeeDoodee, Dec 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. HowdeeDoodee

    HowdeeDoodee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    608
    I want to reinstall XP.

    I set the computer to boot to the CD drive.

    Then I got an error message saying "No boot record found" (referring to the XP Home CD) in the CD drive, so the XP CD will not boot (I guess).

    Then I rebooted by turning off the computer and turning the computer on via the switch taking me to the desktop.

    I clicked on the CD drive icon so I could get access to the XP CD.

    I clicked on the "reinstall XP" option but then I got the message saying I could not reinstall XP because the version on my hard drive is newer than the XP version on my XP-Home CD.

    I have Acronis so I can wipe the disc clean.

    However, if I wipe disc clean and reboot with an Acronis emergency CD, what do I do after I reboot using the emergency CD?
     
  2. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    8,681
    Acronis will not help you reinstall or install Windows XP. If you wipe the drive, you simply will have to be able to boot from the XP setup disk. Otherwise, no go.
     
  3. HowdeeDoodee

    HowdeeDoodee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    608
    If I cannot boot from the Windows XP Set-up Disk, how do I re-install XP?
     
  4. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    8,681
    You don't--at least not to a formatted (blank) disk.

    There may be a way; but, it is so convoluted I wouldn't attempt to walk you through it remotely. It would involve formatting the drive to FAT32, copying the XP installation files to a folder on the disk and running the installation from there. But, since the XP disk won't boot, there is the possibility also that its setup files aren't all readable either.
     
  5. HowdeeDoodee

    HowdeeDoodee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    608
  6. hrlow2

    hrlow2

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,713
    Try the disk in a friends machine to verify if it will boot or not. May have to purchase a new disk.
     
  7. bigbear

    bigbear

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,717
    Can you confirm you have set the cd drive to first boot?
    It maybe the windows disc does not have SP2, you can overcome this by slipstreaming SP2 onto another disc thereby creating a new windows disc.
     
  8. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,680
    Is this a real MS retail CD that you are attempting to use? I cannot recall any xp CDs that were not bootable.
     
  9. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,669
    On occasion you may run into an XP CD that will fail to boot although it is not a common problem. Since XP was released in 2001 I've had 1 or 2 instances where the CD would not boot, and had to go to the Microsoft site and download and make boot floppies. It takes 6 floppies to make the set.

    At the Microsoft site they have downloads for XP Home and Professinal boot floppies. You have to choose floppies for the disk you are trying to boot with, i.e. Home or Pro and original release, or SP1 or SP2.
     
  10. alwrmc

    alwrmc

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,063
    If I'm reading all of this correctly, you are attempting to reinstall XP from a legitimate copy of XP but when you try to boot to the CD it tells you that the copy of XP already installed is newer/more up to date than the copy of XP on the CD that you are attempting to boot from. (wheee, long sentence!)
    If you can indeed boot from that CD as you seem to indicate that you can, then you need to reformat the HD, and reinstall XP. It should be fairly simple. The process takes a few hours to format, reinstall XP and get everything updated and all. I'm sure you know that when you reformat that cleans that HD and you lose everything on it. You must reinstall everything. Make sure you have separate copies of any files/folders you do not want to lose. An external HD, USB drive, media card or CD/DVD are needed for those copies. External HD or CD/DVD would be my choice.
    If you already have Windows XP installed, why do you need to reinstall?
     
  11. Frank4d

    Frank4d Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    A simple reformat probably won't do, as Setup may still detect the old Windows installation even on a re-formatted drive. The drive needs to be wiped (zero filled) using a utility such as DBAN, or zero fill utility from the hard drive manufacturer.
     
  12. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    8,681
    Sorry, that's just not so.
     
  13. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,680
    Frank if you simply delete/create a new partition and do fixmbr, there can be no instance of the old install.

    To the original poster; is this a full retail version of xp or are you attempting to use an oem disk?
     
  14. Frank4d

    Frank4d Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    Then what to do if Setup detects a previous installation even though the drive is re-formatted?

    Edit: yes, delete/create a new partition and fixmbr would do it. A simple reformat, no.
     
  15. alwrmc

    alwrmc

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,063
    Am I wrong on this after all these years?....if you reformat the HD there will be no previous version of Windows to detect.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/781740