Solved: Unable to start Win XP Pro

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

fieldrep

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 8, 2008
Messages
4
After loading an updated version of QuickBooks today, I attempted to restart my computer and received this error message:
Windows XP could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt: \WINDOWS\SYSTEMS32\CONFIG\SYSTEM.

Attempted "typical recovery methods", then inserted Reinstallation CD for Windows XP Professional (SP2) that came with DELL computer (pre-installed). Followed steps to "Welcome to Setup" blue screen. Pressed r to repair. Followed steps to chkdsk /r command. Process began.

After process reached 38%, there was no more activity---for almost 1.5 hours. Seemed frozen.
Turned off computer.

Tried, unsucessfully, to follow Microsoft instructions found online. At the Recovery Console command prompt, created 'md tmp', then attempted to "copy c:", etc. Each time I entered a "copy c:" line, I was given the message: "Cannot copy...". Not sure if this is happening because I have a DELL disk, rather than original Windows XP disk?!?!? If so, any way around this?

HELP! What, oh, what can I do???:confused:
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
63
Seems that the drive is not responding properly.

You might need to run a diagnostic tool on the drive first and then re-try the steps that you have tried above.

What is the harddrive manufacture? I'll post you a link to the right utility
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2000
Messages
191
Most definitely a Hard drive problem...use the WD Diagnostics tools off of their site. It will attempt to repair the bad sectors. In the meantime, you may need to purchase a new hard drive.
 

fieldrep

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 8, 2008
Messages
4
(y)Thanks for your help, everyone! Put in a new HD, and sucessfully recovered needed info from damaged HD...:)
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Good work. Be sure to test that old one thoroughly if you plan to try to use it. But the trash may be the best idea.
 

fieldrep

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 8, 2008
Messages
4
Taking no chances---into the garbage it has gone, after a bit of hammer-induced destruction! Increased my HD capacity & RAM while I was at it, so feel rather satisfied!

Thanks!
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Taking no chances---into the garbage it has gone, after a bit of hammer-induced destruction! Increased my HD capacity & RAM while I was at it, so feel rather satisfied!

Thanks!
Yes, there are bright sides to these things. Even re-installing is like a nice, hot shower if your machine is a mess.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top