1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Unable to update IP address

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by maineac60, Nov 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. maineac60

    maineac60 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    161
    suddenly today for no apparent reason, my internet connection stopped working
    on my desktop computer. I thought maybe the ethernet card had failed, so I went
    and bought a new PCI wireless card. It installed fine and connected to the wireless
    router but willl not connect to the internet. The router is working fine because I am
    using now with my laptop. I keep getting an error message telling me that it is unable to update my IP Address. Can anyone give me a clue???
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,594
    First Name:
    Terry
    We need a few clues about your equipment and the problem before we can offer clues about a possible solution.

    Disable encryption on the router and try to connect that way first. Try to connect both wireless and ethernet and show ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. maineac60

    maineac60 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    161
    Here is the data from IPCONFIG/ALL

    Host Name.. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .CARLSPUTER
    Primary Dns Suffix. . . . . . . . . . . . .:
    Node Type. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . . No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . . . . .Belkin

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS suffix. . . . Belkin
    Description. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Linksys Wireless-G PCI Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . . . . . .00-1C-10-E4-D0-37
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Yes
    Autoconfiguration enabled. . . . . . .Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 192.168.2.7
    Subnet Mask. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway. . . . . . . . . . . . . . 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 192.168.2.1
    DNS Servers. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24.92.226.9
    24.92.226.102
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Saturday November 3,2007 5:18:01

    Lease Expires. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Sunday, September 13, 1931 10:49:45


    I am not sure how to disable encryption on the router.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,594
    First Name:
    Terry
    You seem to have a good wireless connection to a Belkin router. No evidence of an ethernet adapter.

    If you are still having a problem with internet access, please open a Command window and tell us whether you get replies or all packets lost:

    ping 192.168.2.1
    ping 216.109.112.135
    ping yahoo.com
     
  5. maineac60

    maineac60 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    161
    I tried all of the pings and got the following results

    packets sent 4, received 4, lost 0

    same results with all of them but still unable to connect to browser. I tried Firefox and IE and neither would connect.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,594
    First Name:
    Terry
    You obviously have internet access. The trouble with the browsers could be a 3rd party firewall (internet security), bad Internet Options settings, or messed up stack or winsock.

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt.


    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  7. maineac60

    maineac60 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    161
    (y) :) That did the trick!!! ks a lot. I appreciate it very much.

    Carl
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,594
    First Name:
    Terry
    You're welcome.

    Please mark this 'solved' using the Thread Tools at the upper right.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Unable update
  1. mikequest3
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,007
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/647461

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice