1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

(Solved) Under helps, my“Index” and "Quick reference" function will not open!

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by genesis2003, Feb 13, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. genesis2003

    genesis2003 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Under helps, My“Index” and "Quick reference" function will not open specifically on Net Objects Fusion 3.0, and adobe Illustrator and photo shop programs.

    Plus when I click on my Norton Antivirus2003 Icon, the program will not open.

    If I uninstall these programs and reinstall them will everything I saved be affected?
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,380
    Hiya

    It seems strange that a few programs have died, and not just the one.

    Go to http://www.spywareinfo.com/downloads.html , and download 'Startuplist' (in the "Startup Program Management" section).

    Unzip, doubleclick it, and it will generate a text file that will list all running processes, all applications that are loaded automatically when you start Windows, and more.

    Go to Edit > select all, copy it and please post the contents here.

    Also, run a virus scan with an updated copy, or go here for an online scan:

    http://housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/start_corp.asp

    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. genesis2003

    genesis2003 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Eddie,

    Thanks for the reply. Here's the StartUp list you suggested.

    I've ran the Virus scan you suggested, all is fine.

    StartupList report, 2/19/03, 10:28:21 PM
    StartupList version: 1.51
    Started from : C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\STARTUPLIST.EXE
    Detected: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCEVTMGR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\ptsnoop.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\STARTER.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\LEXBCES.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RPCSS.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\VCLZIP\FBZIP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\STARTUPLIST.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
    ScanRegistry = c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun
    CountrySelection = pctptt.exe
    PTSNOOP = ptsnoop.exe
    EnsoniqMixer = starter.exe
    ccApp = "c:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
    ccRegVfy = "c:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccRegVfy.exe"
    StillImageMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

    ccEvtMgr = "c:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe"
    ScriptBlocking = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Script Blocking\SBServ.exe" -reg

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
    (Created 15/2/2003, 18:12:58)

    [rename]
    nul=F:\winzip32.exe
    nul=F:\WZCAB3.DLL
    nul=F:\WZSHLEX1.DLL
    nul=F:\WZSHLSTB.DLL

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

    SET CLASSPATH=C:\Program Files\PhotoDeluxe 2.0\AdobeConnectables
    SET BLASTER=A220 I7 D1 H7 P330 T6
    SET SBPCI=C:\SBPCI

    --------------------------------------------------


    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    (no name) - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\NZDD.DLL - {EBCDDA60-2A68-11D3-8A43-0060083CFB9C}
    NAV Helper - c:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872}

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    Symantec NetDetect.job
    Synchronize Time.job
    Check E-mail.job

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [Shockwave Flash Object]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

    [InstallFromTheWeb ActiveX Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\IFTW.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://www.installfromtheweb.com/install/iftwclix.cab

    [MailConfigure Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\MAILCFG.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://supportservices.msn.com/us/smtptool/MailCfg.cab

    [CV3 Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WUV3IS.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/R1024/V31Controls/x86/w98/en/actsetup.cab

    [HouseCall Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\XSCAN53.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/2003012801/housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/xscan53.cab

    [ActiveDataObj Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\ACTIVEDATA.DLL
    CODEBASE = https://www-secure.symantec.com/techsupp/activedata/ActiveData.cab

    [symsupportutil]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\ACTIVEDATA.DLL
    CODEBASE = https://www-secure.symantec.com/techsupp/activedata/symsupportutil.CAB
    OSD = C:\WINDOWS\Downloaded Program Files\OSD34.OSD

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 4,737 bytes
    Report generated in 0.349 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /full - to include several rarely-important sections
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only


    **************************
    FYI,

    History: A few months ago I had an error message come up when I attempted to enter into my Internet Explorer control panel. The message read, "Cannot find the file 'c:\windows\rundll32.exe' (or one of its components). Make sure the path and filename are correct and that all required libraries are available." I went ahead and used this advice:

    ----------------------------
    If you're running Win 98, you can do this very easily with System File Checker:

    Go to Start/run, and type SFC.
    Choose 'Extract One File From Installation Disk'.
    Type rundll32.exe, not worrying about its location. Then, click Start.

    Next to 'Restore From', type in or browse for the file’s location, which is probably in the Win98 folder of your installation CD-ROM (typically D:\Win98), or in your Windows\Options\Cabs folder, as the case may be.

    Then, next to 'Save File In', enter C:\Windows, and click OK. System File Checker looks for the file, saves it as you requested, and then tells you that 'the file has been successfully extracted'.

    Now reboot, and try again.
    -----------------------------

    This only fixed the rundll32.exe problem!

    ******************************************

    Since then I've had Rollin Rog help me on some other issue, which appears resolved. The only thing I had left was this problem which he suggested I should place under this category.

    Thanks!


    Computer: Compaq Presario 7AP140 7000 Series
    800MHz AMD Athlon Processor
    128MB Memory
    30.0GB Hard Drive
    DVD-ROM Drive
    CR-RW Drive
    56K Modem (in use)
    Windows 98se
    Norton Antivirus 2003 (use consistent since purchased new)
     
  4. genesis2003

    genesis2003 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Eddie,

    Here's the title of resolved problem I mentioned.

    Perhaps its history might be of some use.

    **************************************
    Under operating system 98

    Dated 2/13/03

    Missing or corrupted: DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\EMM386.EXE


    Thanks again!
     
  5. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,380
    Well, that was fun to read :p

    Rollin' has cleaned up your startup, so looks like it may be something else.

    When you say clicking the icon for Norton Antivirus2003, is that near the clock, or on the actual desktop?

    Have you tried reinstalling one of the programs you're having trouble with, say adobe Illustrator? I noticed you said about the saved files.

    Don't use the programs that you have mentioned, but do you know the names of some of the files that you have saved? If so, go to Find Files via Start, and look in the entire HardDrive.

    When you find them, you may want to Zip them up, and place the Zip somewhere else. That way, when you uninstall/re-install, you can unzip the files that you created before, in the same directory.

    Can you also try another thing? Go to another program that has the Help menu on. Something other than the ones you listed. Can you open the Help files okay?

    eddie
     
  6. genesis2003

    genesis2003 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Eddie, I’m glad you made it through the obstacle course of my previous postings, Thanks!!

    Here’s the response to your questions:

    The Norton icon located near the clock, as well as in the start>program>Norton Antivirus3000 icon, both refuse to open.

    When I right click on the icons, a drop down box with Open Norton Antivirus, Disable Auto Protect, and Configure Norton Antivirus appears.

    If I select Open Norton Antivirus, nothing happens.

    If I select Configure Norton Antivirus the option screen appears. The Auto-protect is selected utilizing all the recommended items in every field.

    The program functions, but I could swear that I used to be able to double click on both of these Icons before and something appeared?

    Just before your response, I decided to be brave, so I un-installed my Illustrator 8. All my ‘ai’ icons changed to the window flags. I freaked a little and reinstalled the program again. All the file Icons changed back but the “Index’ and “Quick Reference” wasn’t available.

    Theory:

    Now I decided to check into this a little further, from start>window explorer>”C”>programs>illustrator8>helps, I found an Illustrator CNT Icon (13KB), Illustrator FTS file Icon (418KB) and an Illustrator “Help File” (4.349KB) Icon shown as a Windows Flag. When I right click and select properties the MS Dos name: DOS name ILLUST~1.HLP, shows.

    Now it’s my novice hunch that whatever program, or extension (I think you call it), which opens this “Help File” either doesn’t exist anymore or something fell off somewhere.

    Net Object Fusion is reminiscent to Adobe programs, my hunch is that it may be programmed similarly and may be the reason why it’s affected as well.

    As for your suggestion to try another program to check out the Help Menu, when I open “Word2000”, the “Help” does program work well.

    Thanks again!!
     
  7. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,380
    Okay

    If you go to the Word program folder in Windows Explorer, is the Help file a Windows icon there? Or, does it look like this:

    <IMG SRC="http://forums.techguy.org/attachment.php?postid=739334">

    Also, go to Windows Explorer again, and click on Tools | Options. File Types tab.

    Scroll down to the HLP extension. Click on it to highlight. What does it say it opens with?

    eddie
     

    Attached Files:

    • hlp.gif
      hlp.gif
      File size:
      458 bytes
      Views:
      820
  8. genesis2003

    genesis2003 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Thanks again Eddie,

    Frankly, not sure of which folders to look into, under Windows Explorer I went ahead and opened the [C:] program files, Window files, and all the [D:] System_sav files.

    I even used the “Find” program as well using words like “Help, HLP, Tools, Word, and Options.

    As a result, I couldn’t find the Help file at all in the Word program, which is located inside Microsoft Office folder (neither Icons exist).

    Also, I couldn’t find “Tools | Options” attempting to locate the HLP extensions as well.

    What I found interesting when using the “Find” program using “hlp”, all the programs listed under the properties section using MS dos name .hlp - the icons were all Windows.

    I’m sure I’m missing something!

    Help.
     
  9. genesis2003

    genesis2003 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    I found it!!

    Under the Tools | Option and File tab there is a Help File. When highlighted the file tpye details are:

    Wibdow Icon HLP
    Content type (MIME)
    Open with: WINHLP32

    Sorry about the brain fart!
     
  10. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,380
    You said that when you search for HLP in Find Files, they all came back as the Windows icon, or just some?

    I'm not certain if Word does have a Help like that, as I don't have it installed. I was just thinking off the top of my head. :)

    Can you open the Help section that is via Start | Help?

    Also, back in File Types, See if you can see the button Edit or Advanced when clicked on HLP.

    You're looking for the Edit File Type box. Once there, you'll see another Edit. Clicking that, will bring up something that says:

    Alication used to Perform action:

    C:\WINNT\System32\winhlp32.exe %1

    If you're 98, it may have WINDOWS instead of WINNT


    Also, try this. Go to Run and type REGEDIT.
    Locate this key:

    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.hlp

    Click on it to open. What is shown on the righthand side?

    To close, just press the large X as normal. Don't delete anything in there.

    eddie
     
  11. genesis2003

    genesis2003 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Here’s the information you asked for. Thanks again!

    * In 'Find Files' searching HLP their are 410 help files that have the Window icons, the other 30 are different non-help files.

    * Start> Help> does function well

    * Under File Types Help > Edit > Edit file box > Edit – shows “Application used to Perform action”:
    c:\windows\winhlp32.exe

    * Regarding HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.htp- it reads:

    Name Data
    [Icon AB] “hlpfile”
     
  12. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,380
    Okay

    Go to Start | Find Files, and look for winhlp32.exe

    Search in the entire hardDrive. What are the locations for the files, and also curious about the size of them.

    Also, back in the Registry, did you have a (Default) in there?

    eddie
     
  13. genesis2003

    genesis2003 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    OK Eddie,

    ·Start | Find Files, I’ve searched the entire hard drive, there are No winhlp32.exe to be found.
    ·Under REGEDIT, I open the HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT folder and found:

    Icon AB (Default) (value not set):confused:

    Thanks.
     
  14. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,380
    Okay

    if you click on 'private msg' at the bottom of my reply, and send me your email address. I have a copy of winhlp32.exe on my other pc, running Win98. I'll email you the file.

    eddie
     
  15. genesis2003

    genesis2003 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    eddie,

    I went ahead sent you the info you requested, did it get you OK?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - (Solved) Under helps
  1. Alex Ethridge
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    623
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/118727

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice