1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Unidentified Network Vista Problem After installing AVG

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Noodleh, Jan 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Noodleh

    Noodleh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    I use Windows Vista Home Premium and my problem started yesterday when my Norton 360 subscription ended and I installed the 31 day trial of the AVG (I uninstalled Norton 360 first).
    The laptop I'm using at the moment, is able to connect to the router with an ethernet cable and through a wireless connection while the problematic laptop cant do either.
    I assumed that this problem has to have something to do with AVG/Norton so I uninstalled them both, but the problem persists.
    Also when I go into Vista's Security Center it shows that Norton 360 firewall is still active. And it does not let me activate the Windows one (It just says Windows Cannot Activate the Firewall service).
    I tracked every piece of Norton/Symantec files on my computer (including registry/services) and deleted them but the Norton Firewall is still there..

    Could it be that this shade of the Norton firewall is stopping the Windows one from working? And so, could that be why my laptop is not able to identify the connections I'm trying to connect to?
    Anyone have any idea on how this problem can be fixed?


    P.S.
    Sorry about bringing up a new thread about this, but I've stripped google of everything it has already and nothing I've found so far has helped me.
     
  2. Luck003

    Luck003

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    34
  3. Noodleh

    Noodleh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    I had totally forgotten about the Norton uninstaller.. Thanks!
    Now I have only the Windows Firewall, but it still wont turn on . (Same problem: it's saying windows cannot start the firewall service). I've tried to reset the Winsock as I saw it helping a few people but it didnt fix it for me.
    And the Unidentified Network issue is still there.

    Any more ideas, anyone?
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or Windows 7.

    Start, All Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands, each followed by the Enter key:

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.



    With a wired connection, please post the following.




    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    NOTE: For the items below in red surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous IPCONFIG command output! Do NOT type <computer_IP_address> into the command, that won't work. Also, the < and > in the text is to identify the parameters, they are also NOT used in the actual commands.

    Do NOT include the <> either, they're just to identify the values for substitution.


    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 74.125.45.100

    PING yahoo.com


    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above. (For Vista/Win7, the IPv4 Address)

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  5. Noodleh

    Noodleh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Ok, did the first thing.

    Here's the ipconfig/all and the ping's I could do:
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Speeles>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Anglia-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8187B Wireless 802.11g 54Mbps
    USB 2.0 Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-AF-37-46-D5
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-0B-4C-53-3F
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.137.28(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{3E03C8AE-EC71-494E-9672-2BFB3E6AD
    4C2}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 10:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{E0B75591-B19D-43B3-B556-5F1DB38FC
    F56}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Speeles>ping 74.125.45.100

    Pinging 74.125.45.100 with 32 bytes of data:
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.

    Ping statistics for 74.125.45.100:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\Speeles>ping yahoo.com
    Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.


    C:\Users\Speeles>ping 169.254.137.28

    Pinging 169.254.137.28 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 169.254.137.28: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 169.254.137.28: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 169.254.137.28: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 169.254.137.28: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 169.254.137.28:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms


    I wasnt sure about the computer ip address I pinged, but that was the only one that looked like a possible one in the ipconfig thing.
    There was nothing in the Default Gateway bit so I couldnt ping that, is that my problem?

    Thanks for the response.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Check that all your network services are Started:
    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    • Computer Browser
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Vista wireless configurations only)
    • Workstation

    Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

    All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic (or perhaps manual).

    If a service is not running, open it's properties and check the dependencies. Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running. Checking the event log is also a good idea here, there may be clues to what is failing.
     
  7. Noodleh

    Noodleh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    All of the services are running and set to start automatically.

    I checked the Event Log and when I log on I only get 3 Administrative Events they are:

    The Windows Firewall service terminated with service-specific error 6801 (0x1A91).

    The Parallel port driver service failed to start due to the following error:
    The service cannot be started, either because it is disabled or because it has no enabled devices associated with it.

    The description for Event ID 20 from source Google Update cannot be found. Either the component that raises this event is not installed on your local computer or the installation is corrupted. You can install or repair the component on the local computer.

    If the event originated on another computer, the display information had to be saved with the event.

    The following information was included with the event:

    Network Request Error.
    Error: 0x80072ee7. Http status code: 0.
    Url=https://tools.google.com/service/update2
    Trying config: source=IE, direct connection.
    trying CUP:WinHTTP.
    Send request returned 0x80072ee7. Http status code 0.
    trying WinHTTP.
    Send request returned 0x80072ee7. Http status code 0.
    trying CUP:iexplore.
    Send request returned 0x80004005. Http status code 0.
    Trying config: source=auto, wpad=1, script=.
    trying CUP:WinHTTP.
    Send request returned 0x80072ee7. Http status code 0.
    trying WinHTTP.
    Send request returned 0x80072ee7. Http status code 0.
    trying CUP:iexplore.
    Send request returned 0x80004005. Http status code 0.
    Trying config: source=IE, direct connection.
    trying CUP:WinHTTP.
    Send request returned 0x80072ee7. Http status code 0.
    trying WinHTTP.
    Send request returned 0x80072ee7. Http status code 0.
    trying CUP:iexplore.
    Send request returned 0x80004005. Http status code 0.
    Trying config: source=auto, wpad=1, script=.
    trying CUP:WinHTTP.
    Send request returned 0x80072ee7.

    The last one, I'm assuming is just google trying to update and not being able due to no internet, but still posted if maybe it provides a bit more meaning to someone else.

    If there was something specific I should have looked for in the Event Viewer let me know, I'm not very used to using it.

    Thanks for the reply.
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Well, you have no connection with the wired NIC.

    Did you do a system restore to before the problem occurred?
     
  9. Noodleh

    Noodleh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    I was not able to do a system restore due to some error the first time.
    The second time I got around doing it (this time in safe mode, as I discovered that could fix my error) the older restore point was gone and the ones that I now had were at the time my connection was already problematic.
    Is there some way to retrieve older restore points?

    My laptop wont take either wireless or wired connection though. Both end up being unidentified.
    So is this not connected to the firewall, but more of a physical or driver related problem?

    Thanks for your time.
     
  10. Noodleh

    Noodleh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Bump.
    Please, anyone, is there anything I can do to fix my problem?
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Are you SURE the wired connection and cable is working? Have you tried it with another computer?
     
  12. Noodleh

    Noodleh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Yes, this laptop (the one I'm using at the moment) was able to connect to the router with the same cable.

    So is the problem not within some settings introduced or changed with the AVG antivirus?
    I'm pretty sure my connection dissapeared the moment I installed it/uninstalled Norton 360.
     
  13. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Well, running the Norton Removal Tool will be a good idea if you haven't already. After that, do that stack repair again.
     
  14. Noodleh

    Noodleh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    I've done the removal, and I now only have the Windows Firewall, but it wont start.
    This is the error I see in the event viewer when I log on :
    The Windows Firewall service terminated with service-specific error 6801 (0x1A91)

    While doing the stack repair I seem to be getting a little error at the start, but it does reset something:
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>netsh winsock reset

    Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv4 reset
    Reseting Echo Request, failed.
    Access is denied.

    Reseting Interface, OK!
    A reboot is required to complete this action.


    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 reset
    Reseting Echo Request, failed.
    Access is denied.

    There's no user specified settings to be reset.

    Anything bad in there?
    (The connection's still unidentified after reset)
     
  15. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/891837