1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Uninstall Old Modem & Routers Before Installing New One?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by baybreeze, Nov 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. baybreeze

    baybreeze Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Good morning everyone,

    I just joined the forum and really hope someone can assist me. Currently, I have an older desktop running Win XP and I normally access the internet via DSL. I have a modem that's a wired modem/router combo, which is then hooked up to a wireless router. I believe my modem might be semi-dead because the power light has turned red and I cannot get onto the web via DSL. Don't laugh, but right now I'm no dial-up and it's quite painful! Anyway, does anyone know if I need to UNinstall anything before unplugging my modem and wireless router to install a new wireless modem/router? I wasn't sure if I can say what brand anything is, so that's why I've neglected this. One more thing I should note, I don't believe any software was installed for my old ones...I was supposed to type in an IP address in a web browser to access their settings, but that's not working either. Is it safe to just unplug all my current equipment, then go ahead with the new one? I do see a CD with my new one, which I'm supposed to put in before I do anything else with my new one.
     
  2. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    If they are plugged in by ethernet cables,there shouldn't
    be anything to uninstall.
    Only when connected by USB does any of it need a driver install.
    The new one probably has USB drivers and a setup wizard,but
    chances are you can just go to the setup page in a web browser
    if you want and not use the cd at all,if your are not connecting to USB.
     
  3. baybreeze

    baybreeze Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thank you for your reply! I actually couldn't wait anymore, so I just unplugged my old units and just went ahead with set up on the new one. I figured I'd just call tech support if I did something wrong. Set up ended up going pretty smoothly, though I had a hiccup with the install CD. It just stopped at the step before the last, so I had to call tech support anyway. It was painless, though, as I only had to manually configure a few things to finish up, which was quick & easy. Now I'm back on DSL and it's great! I HATE dial-up, but this is why I still have it. I used to have so many times that my DSL didn't work, so I'd have dial-up as my back up. However I always had those problems with the ISP's own equipment. Since i've used my own, I don't have those disconnect problems anymore. Well, except that my own modem died, so I had to buy a new one.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    You can mark your own threads solved using the [​IMG] button at the top of the first page of the thread in the upper left corner.© :)
     
  5. baybreeze

    baybreeze Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thank you! I just marked it solved.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/961014