[Solved] Uninstaller problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ALFYB

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 24, 2000
Messages
32
Windows 98. The other day i tried to uninstall "the desktop". after i rebooted i got this message "Cannot find a device that may be needed to run windows or a windows application.The windows registry or system INI file refers to this device file but the device file no longer exists. If you deleted the file on purpose (which i did) the device file no longer exists. If you want to reinstal--------. It ends up with this C:programs~1\mcafee\macafee~1\nuts&b'1\Qload.386.
I can hit any key to get rid of this message but its annoying to do so. Can anybody help to give me a solution. Also I'm not computer oriented so if there is a solution walk me thru it. thanks much.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 1999
Messages
8,974
Select Start, Run, type: SYSEDIT, select System.ini window, select Search, Find, and type: QLOAD.386, select Next. Once you find the statement turn it into a comment by adding a semicolon [; ] to the first position of the line. The select File and Save, and reboot.
 

ALFYB

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 24, 2000
Messages
32
Dan, thanks for your prompt response. Tried it but it didn't work. Maybe I screwed upon the positioning of the semi colon. Hre is how statement showed to me
[386ENH]
device=C:progra~etc
I put the semi-colon before the letter"c', selected file and then save -rebooted and srtill got thre same message. Where did I screw up? Thanks
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
Dan appears to be offline so I'll go ahead and answer it for you.

The semi-colon needs to be the first character on the line and before the word Device. For example,

; device=C:\Prog....

If you can't get it correct you may find it easier to do it this way.

Click on Start>Run, key in Msconfig and press enter. Click on the "System.ini" tab.

Now click on the "+" next to "386Enh".

Locate the statement under the "386Enh" section that has Qload.386 as part of it. Then click on the checkmark next to the line to Unselect it. Click on Apply and then OK.

Let us know what happens.
 

ALFYB

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 24, 2000
Messages
32
Dan/Bryan

It worked. I placed the semi colon in front of the word device and that did it. Thanks to both of you for helping this dummy.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 1999
Messages
8,974
You're welcome and thanks for the feedback. I will mark this thread solved.

P.S. Bryan - Thanks for the assist, you made it very clear what needed to be done.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top