1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: unknown device connected to my router(semi urgent)

Discussion in 'Networking' started by tyzalee, Nov 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tyzalee

tyzalee Thread Starter

hello there, im quite new to this and im quite worried that someone is using my net, on my router dhcp i see my devices and i also see a unix box called dream box connected to my router, ive tried using several security measures to block that device off but for some reason it always manages to reconnect, i really dont feel easy about this and im wondering if someone could guide me to block this device off completely? any more information needed i can provide , thank you and i apologise for any typo of mispellings as im pouring everything out and typing it as i go before i forget anything .

2. etaf

etaf Moderator

First Name:
    Wayne
    make and model of the router
    do you have wireless if so have you setup the wireless security at all ?

what devices do you have connected ?

3. tyzalee

tyzalee Thread Starter

i have 2 dynalink routers, main one is the rta1335 i think adsl2 cable router,

and the other one is a adsl1 wireless dynalink router with dhcp off , and it is there like a wireless hub

devices that are connected in my house is my ipod, my laptop, and my brothers laptop(wireless)

and wired is just 2 pc's

and then theres this.. dreambox

4. tyzalee

tyzalee Thread Starter

oh and yes, i even tried mac address ban on that thing and it still find his way in here

5. etaf

etaf Moderator

First Name:
    Wayne
    what ip range are you using and what default gateway did you setup for both routers
    what IP address does it have?

seems strange that MAC address filtering has not blocked