Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Solved: unknown device connected to my router(semi urgent)

11K views 18 replies 3 participants last post by  etaf 
#1 ·
hello there, im quite new to this and im quite worried that someone is using my net, on my router dhcp i see my devices and i also see a unix box called dream box connected to my router, ive tried using several security measures to block that device off but for some reason it always manages to reconnect, i really dont feel easy about this and im wondering if someone could guide me to block this device off completely? any more information needed i can provide , thank you and i apologise for any typo of mispellings as im pouring everything out and typing it as i go before i forget anything .

#3 ·
i have 2 dynalink routers, main one is the rta1335 i think adsl2 cable router,

and the other one is a adsl1 wireless dynalink router with dhcp off , and it is there like a wireless hub

devices that are connected in my house is my ipod, my laptop, and my brothers laptop(wireless)

and wired is just 2 pc's

and then theres this.. dreambox

#5 ·
what ip range are you using and what default gateway did you setup for both routers
what IP address does it have?

seems strange that MAC address filtering has not blocked

have you tried WPA wireless security - from what I understand on this forum, that has not yet been broken

dreambox
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dreambox

i would switch everything off and see when it appears - maybe switch off the wireless and see when it appears

#6 ·
wireless router - (hubbing ) = 192.168.1.1, adsl2 wire router = 192.168.1.2

the problem is im active on my laptop and at the moment i dont have a place i could sit long enough to monitor without using the wireless connection,

my wireless security is wpa psk(adsl1 router) + mac filter + hidden ssid, each protocol was an addon after a fail attempt, meaning the hidden ssid was my last action against this random device.