1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Unstable internet on 1 computer

Discussion in 'Networking' started by bvanh, Jan 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bvanh

    bvanh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Hello,

    I Searched forever on the internet and tried a lot of things of well but still no result...I hope you guys can help me.

    My internet connection is really unstable. Sometimes it runs normal most of the time it runs really slow or not a all. I especially have this problem while doing online banking.

    My system:
    - Windows 7 ultimate
    - DELL Inspiron 530 core 2 duo processor (2.66Ghz, 1333MHz FSB, 6mb cache)
    - 3Gb DDR2 memory
    - adsl connection,
    - wired to a zyxel modem/router. Prestige 2602H-61c model nr: 401433
    - only one computer connected to the router/modem


    Things I already tried without result
    - Installed windows 7 ultimate to see if that fixes that problem.
    (computer came with windows Vista had the same problem)
    - replaced cable from modem/router to the computer
    - reset router
    - plugged in laptop with the same cable. Result: Worked like a charm.
    - Magic.

    Could there be a problem with the network card of the computer?
    It used to work fine and like said when I plug in an other computer it works really well.

    hope I have been clear!

    Bas
     
  2. mikey71174

    mikey71174

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    BAS,
    You've already done just about as much as you can. You may need to increase your memory, as there may not be enough for you current network card to function efficiently, but before doing that, I would run a hardware check on the NIC.
     
  3. bvanh

    bvanh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    hmm I see..extra memory never hurts I guess but one would say 3gb of ram should be enough right?

    Is there a standard test for this?
     
  4. mikey71174

    mikey71174

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    I would say. Here's a less expensive approach: purchase a USB network adapter, disable all other network adapters but it after installation, then see what your performance is like online.
     
  5. grillinman

    grillinman

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Have you tried looking for an updated driver? This is usually one of my first steps.

    Yes 3GB of RAM should be enough.

    If the driver is up to date I agree with mikey71174's advice on getting a USB adapter to test the connection.
     
  6. bvanh

    bvanh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    I will give my drivers an update.

    If that doesn't work I will buy some new hardware.

    What would be the safest bet? Buying a new USB adapter a NIC card or a PCI card?
     
  7. mikey71174

    mikey71174

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    For a permanent solution, you would be best to go with a PCI NIC card. However, if you're computer is still under warranty, you should contact the manafacturer after testing with a USB adapter and determining the NIC to be the cause. In this case, they should replace your system board under warranty, as I'm sure your current NIC is integrated.
     
  8. bvanh

    bvanh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks I will give it a try and will post the results
     
  9. bvanh

    bvanh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    I downloaded the new drivers with no result so the last thing I did was just adding an extra PCI NIC card which I bought for ten euro's. It solved the problem! Thanks for the help!
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Unstable internet
  1. DarkKard
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    182
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/891069

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice