1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Unusual wireless set-up?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by dobe10, Jan 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dobe10

dobe10 Thread Starter

I'm a beginner. Sorry for the long post.

I have a Gigaset SE567 router with WLAN and Ethernet connections. It's only being used by my XPS 435MT desktop with a wired DSL connection, although the WLAN light is lit.

Under "Network Connections", the desktop says "LAN or High-Speed Internet (1)" and "Local Area Connection Network 2 Intel 82567LF-2 Gigabit Network Connection". The desktop is upstairs. The HT equip. is downstairs.

All I want to do is send firmware updates from a wireless network upstairs to my home theater (HT) eqip. downstairs. The equipment has ethernet jacks and I'm told ip addresses.

** Do I need to download a driver from Dell and/or buy a wireless WLAN adaptor for the computer if I want to set-up a wireless network upstairs.

Someone told me I need a device like this: Buffalo WLI-TX4-AG300N Ethernet Converter But I think that's for the HT equip. and assumes I have a working wireless network upstairs.

I don't want to install a wireless card in my computer. There must be a way to add a wireless network to my desktop without too much effort. If I can do that I'm guessing there's a way to use a bridge/converter downstairs which my computer's wireless network would recognize?

Thanks for the help.

2. etaf

etaf Moderator

First Name:
    Wayne
    so the Gigaset SE567 router
    http://gigaset.com/hq/en/product/GIGASETSE567WLANDSL.html
    should be broadcasting a wireless signal also as the WLAN is on the wireless is enabled