1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Unwanted Home Page.

Discussion in 'General Security' started by brianml, Mar 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. brianml

    brianml Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    I recently downloaded Babylon Translator but decided to opt out. I did a search of Cdrive
    and deleted all that was found. The trouble is that when I opened Mozilla Firefox instead
    of coming up with my default Home Page (which is my ISP's HP), I got a Babylon Search Engine which has been "enhanced by Google". To my mind it is a Google alias. In German to boot.
    I went to Control Panel>Internet Options and my default HP is as it should be,my ISP.
    I have looked all over the Control Panel,Program Files and elsewhere to no avail.
    How can I get rid of this Babylon engine whose address is search.babylon.com/home.
    A look in Firefox also was no good.
    Please help,
    Regards, brianml.

    Below is a summary of my machine.



    Computer Profile Summary
    Computer Name: Brians-computer (in MSHOME)
    Profile Date: Monday, 10 March 2008 11:34:29 AM
    Advisor Version: 7.2v
    Windows Logon:

    Click here for Belarc's System Management products, for large and small companies.

    Operating System System Model
    Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2 (build 2600) No details available
    Processor a Main Circuit Board b
    2.13 gigahertz Intel Core 2 Duo
    64 kilobyte primary memory cache
    4096 kilobyte secondary memory cache Board: ASUSTeK Computer INC. P5L-VM 1394 Rev 1.xx
    Bus Clock: 266 megahertz
    BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. 0304 09/05/2006
    Drives Memory Modules c,d
    400.09 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
    368.47 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space

    HL-DT-ST RW/DVD GCC-4520B [CD-ROM drive]
    PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-212 [CD-ROM drive]
    3.5" format removeable media [Floppy drive]

    ST380011A [Hard drive] (80.02 GB) -- drive 0
    WDC WD3200AAJS-00RYA0 [Hard drive] (320.07 GB) -- drive 1 2048 Megabytes Installed Memory

    Slot 'DIMM0' has 1024 MB
    Slot 'DIMM1' is Empty
    Slot 'DIMM2' has 1024 MB
    Slot 'DIMM3' is Empty
    Local Drive Volumes


    c: (NTFS on drive 1) 320.07 GB 289.40 GB free
    d: (NTFS on drive 0) 80.02 GB 79.07 GB free
    Network Drives
    None detected
    Users (mouse over user name for details) Printers
    local user accounts last logon
    Brian 10/03/2008 10:05:17 AM (admin)
    local system accounts
    Administrator never (admin)
    ASPNET never
    Guest never
    HelpAssistant never
    Phyllis 25/12/2007 3:07:26 PM (admin)
    SUPPORT_388945a0 never

    DISABLED Marks a disabled account; LOCKED OUT Marks a locked account

    Canon PIXMA iP3000 on USB001
    Microsoft Office Document Image Writer Driver on Microsoft Document Imaging Writer Port:
    Microsoft Shared Fax Driver on SHRFAX:
    Controllers Display
    Standard floppy disk controller
    Intel(R) 82801G (ICH7 Family) Ultra ATA Storage Controllers - 27DF
    Intel(R) 82801GB/GR/GH (ICH7 Family) Serial ATA Storage Controller - 27C0
    Primary IDE Channel [Controller] (2x)
    Secondary IDE Channel [Controller] (2x) NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GS [Display adapter]
    ACR Acer AL1916W [Monitor] (19.1"vis, s/n L52091586331, February 2007)
    Bus Adapters Multimedia
    Intel(R) 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB Universal Host Controller - 27C8
    Intel(R) 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB Universal Host Controller - 27C9
    Intel(R) 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB Universal Host Controller - 27CA
    Intel(R) 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB Universal Host Controller - 27CB
    Intel(R) 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB2 Enhanced Host Controller - 27CC Realtek High Definition Audio
    Unimodem Half-Duplex Audio Device
    Communications
     
  2. golferbob

    golferbob

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,896
  3. brianml

    brianml Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Thanks Bob, it sure is a handy program.
    The trouble is that 'Babylon' did not show up.
    I must have not made myself very clear, it is not a tool bar, but a full blown web page.
    It is a mirror image of 'Google' complete with the same wording in German, and Babylon where Google should be.
    So the problem still exists.
    Thank you again.
    Brian.
     
  4. Byteman

    Byteman Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,742
    Hi,


    Found a list of troubleshooting things you can try here:

    http://www.babylon.com/display.php?id=185&tree=6&level=4#21

    Further down on that page> directions to remove the default home page if it is Babylon, default search results....and more, and a link to ask them for help,which may or may not give you anything, but it's worth a try.

    According to what is there, the method of UNinstalling Babylon, is this:



    **Having been in similar circumstances, not with this program....I've often seen that REinstalling, and then UNinstalling again, will help, but that is not always so, and you may need to get help from them, to get your License back, if you have to REinstall and then UNinstall to try and get it all removed.

    Then> follow the steps outlined to reset your default home and search pages...

    If I find more I will add it, but it looks like the above should at least get you back so you can see the US Google search page...
     
  5. brianml

    brianml Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Hi, just an update.
    I have tried all your suggestions,with no result.
    So I went to the mountain,ie, Babylon and explained the problem. As of now they haven't
    got back to me.
    Regards,
    Brian
     
  6. brianml

    brianml Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Relax men! Problem is solved! I decided to look closer @ Firefox and found that they have their own
    "Internet Options" window. Lo and behold when I went there,there it was in all it's glory.Nothing less
    than Babylons address in the Home page box.How it got there I don't know,but it is now gone forever.
    It shows to go that you can learn something new every day.
    And so b----y simple too.

    Thanks for all your help Byteman and Bob.

    Regards,
    Brian
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/691753

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice