[SOLVED] update graphics card

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ukboy

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 22, 2002
Messages
193
i have an nvidia geforce 2 mx 100/200 graphics card and i have some problems with some games, i have read some previous posts and think i should update the drivers, as all my other specs are up to date, how do i go about doing this?
 

ukboy

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 22, 2002
Messages
193
i have just been on the nvidia website and downladed an update driver file, before i run this is there any problems that could possibly arise and am i doing the right thing?
 

ukboy

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 22, 2002
Messages
193
the update asks me to diable my antivirus before use, why is this so.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2001
Messages
3,687
Stop what you are doing !
Shut down all running background programs first. You need to uninstall the old drivers first. If you are running 9x/ME, then download the detonator destroyer to remove these.......

http://www.guru3d.com/detonator-destroyer/
Follow the directions exactly.

If you are running something else, then go into your add/remove programs and uninstall from there. Reboot and install new.
 

ukboy

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 22, 2002
Messages
193
why do you say to delete the existing drivers when nvidia says nothing on the subject of removing old drivers?
 

ukboy

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 22, 2002
Messages
193
on the nvidia website it says this " Every NVIDIA Detonator driver is tested with previous releases of drivers to ensure backward compatibility," does this mean that i am able to run the new driver without removing any old ones?
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2001
Messages
3,687
There have been many issues with conflicts between new and old drivers. Better to be safe than sorry.
It's ultimately your decision.


Debe
 

ukboy

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 22, 2002
Messages
193
btw just before i remove the driver it tells me that it will remove my display device, is this alright as i do not really want to muck anything up?
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2001
Messages
3,687
That's fine.....windows will find and reinstall it after you reboot.
 

ukboy

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 22, 2002
Messages
193
thanks for your help it has been installed sucessfully with no probs.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top