Solved: Updating D-Link DIR 601

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DKTaber

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
2,871
The firmware in my 5-year-old D-Link DIR 601 A router is the original (ver. 1.01). The D-Link site says update 1.04 is available for the A version of the 601. But if I go into the router's configuration and use Tools, Firmware, there's a box to check for firmware updates. When I click it, it says the firmware I have is the latest. Which is right: The D-Link site or the "Check now" button??
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
Unzip the .bin. Then I would expect there to be an "update firmware" action somewhere in the router configuration pages, with a "Browse" to the .bin file.
 

DKTaber

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
2,871
Unzip the .bin. Then I would expect there to be an "update firmware" action somewhere in the router configuration pages, with a "Browse" to the .bin file.
OK. I know how to do that, but the D-Link site says there's version 1.04. When I click the "Check now" button, it claims I have the latest firmware. If I ignore that and install the 1.04 file, will it screw up the router. . . or will the router reject it as 'incompatible'?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
If I ignore that and install the 1.04 file, will it screw up the router. . . or will the router reject it as 'incompatible'?
I do not know. If the router is working OK why chance causing a problem? If a firmware update is the only chance to get some more useful life from it why not just charge ahead?
 

DKTaber

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
2,871
Terry and Triple: Absent assurances that the 1.04 update is compatible, I'm going with Terry's if-it-ain't-broke-don't-fix-it policy. I looked at the list of changes over my 1.01 and, although I'm not very savvy about wireless devices, I don't see anything there that would improve its performance. . . which right now is probably as close to perfect as one can get on a 5-year-old $40 router that I bought for $20 ("door-buster special"). It's stable (rarely has to be rebooted), provides 38-40Mbps at the basement level where it's located, and 25Mbps in the bedrooms 2 stories up.

Triple: FYI, I always configure the router and check for updates from my PC, which is connected to the router via Ethernet cable.

Parting shot: Although this router has shown itself to be a bargain, I don't think I would buy another D-Link product. Their web site is user-unfriendly for getting answers to simple questions, like "Is firmware ver. 1.04 compatible with my router?" Although they show a "Chat" button, it's a "virtual" chatter (no person on the other end). And although there's a button for e-mail support, it's disabled. I just registered on their forum and posted that question. We'll see if I get a credible answer.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Firmware 1.04 is compatible with your router, hence why it is being listed in the downloads for that model, firmware not listed is not compatible.

Also, the router is not configured to check for updates through your computer, it connects directly to a DLink server. You are only accessing it's internal configuration page from your computer.
 

DKTaber

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
2,871
Firmware 1.04 is compatible with your router, hence why it is being listed in the downloads for that model, firmware not listed is not compatible.

Also, the router is not configured to check for updates through your computer, it connects directly to a DLink server. You are only accessing it's internal configuration page from your computer.
Au contrair, mon ami, the firmware says it checks for updates ONLINE, meaning (I assume) it goes to the D-Link site and looks for updates. In addition, I just got a response to my post on the D-Link forum that has DEFINITELY put me off trying to update the firmware. In effect it says that firmware updates are chancy/can cause great harm or problems with the router, and unless you're having problems, best to forgo them. I have never had problems with this router, so I'm not going to risk turning it into a black brick!
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Updating firmware/BIOS/ROM's on all devices is and has always risky on all brands and devices and only recommended when it addresses serious issues or resolves problems that are being experienced.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top