1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Upgrade my ISA server to a newer version? BACKUP/Restore question

Discussion in 'Windows Server' started by Renamed&Closed5, Dec 15, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Renamed&Closed5

Renamed&Closed5 Account Closed Thread Starter

Hello there,
    Im using a ISA Server 2003 on a windows server 2003 enterprice edition.
    And i was thinking about to upgrade the server to 2008.
    But how can i backup the complete configuration of the isa server so i dont have to recofingure all the new rules etc again on a new server 2008 ?
    Im sorry im a newbie... but after i install a server 2008 do i have to install the ISA server ? or whichone is the best one that is compatible for server 2008 ?

Ty everyone for supporting us this forum is just the best i';ve ever seen

2. Rockn

Rockn

I believe the OS upgrade will only upgrade the OS and not do anything to the ISA setup. You may want to look at system requirements for ISA server 2003 to see if it is fully compatible running on Server 2008.

3. Renamed&Closed5

can you explain me please how do i do the upgrade i thought i need to format the pc and reinstall the pc again... does windows have an upgrade option?

4. Rockn

Rockn

You can do an in place upgrade from server 2003 to 2008. Is this a server or a PC you are just playing on?

5. Renamed&Closed5

6. Rockn

Rockn

7. Renamed&Closed5

alright thanks mate

8. Rockn

Rockn

There is also an export feature directly in the ISA server snap in.

9. icabean

icabean