1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Upgrade or Replace?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by KugarWeb, Jan 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. KugarWeb

    KugarWeb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Hey all,

    Well I've owned my computer for about 3-4 years now and to be honest it's been good but just recently I've been getting into video editing, 3D animation and general graphic design and well...my computer just can't seem to keep up.

    It would be nice since I've got legal copies of both Windows 7 Trial and Windows Vista Business N to use these and get upto date with everything and especially since I recently installed the CS3 Master Collection on my computer, I've noticed I can't export anything in After Effects which is bigger than about a minute long without my computer locking up. At the moment I have the following specification.

    HP Media Center PC - m7071.uk
    Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005
    Pentium 4 630 3.0Ghz HT Technology Processor
    ATi Radeon X600 Series 256MB PCI Express x16 Graphics Card
    4GB DDR PC3200 184-pin RAM
    SATA 180GB Internal HDD
    Memory Card Reader
    2x DVDRW Drives
    6x USB Ports
    2x FireWire Ports
    Hauppauge TV Card

    These are obviously the basic specs (Full List: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Pavilion-Media-Center-m7071-uk-Photosmart/dp/B000W4HIK4).

    It would be nice to still have the TV Card built in but not essential. Mainly I would like a powerful system, capable of handling large amounts of video footage and audio as well as general operations. I'm not quite sure of my budget as of yet since I've been out of the upgrading scheme of things for quite some time so I'm not sure how much money gets me what these days! :confused:

    One thing which would definately be useful is more USB ports since I bought some little devices which extend it although obviously this was just a quick fix to get my new scanner up and running.

    So, what would you suggest? Ditch the current base unit and buy a new one or upgrade the above system with some new bits and bobs?

    Cheers,

    Andrew.
     
  2. BG-0

    BG-0

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    6,922
    New bits and bobs won't fit that system. So ditch it.
    Depending on how good you want:
    Motherboard for Intel Q6600 or Q9550: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128359
    Motherboard for Intel Core i7 920: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130220
    CPU: Q6600: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115017 Q9550: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115041 i7 920: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115202
    RAM for Q6600/Q9550: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145184 or http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231166
    RAM for i7 920: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231223 or http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145222
    Hard drive: up to you. Examples: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136218 or http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136317
    New case would be appreciated by the system: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811129042
    Power supply: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817341011 (deal ends soon, if it goes up much in price, consider something like this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817703005 )
    Burners: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827136152
    Card reader: err. pick one: http://www.newegg.com/Store/SubCategory.aspx?SubCategory=69&name=Card-Readers
    TV card, not so familiar with them, never needed and propably never will one, here's some dirt cheap one that could be worth testing although it would be horrible: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16815260017 as good rating as all the other TV tuner cards, so...

    I'll double-check and edit if needed, ask anything you want if something bothers/etc you.

    EDIT #1: the graphics card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121259, http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102726 or http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814161252 depending on the load that the programs you use put on the graphics card and the amount of occasional gaming occuring on the rig.
    EDIT #2: the motherboard come with 8 USB ports, and the case has 2 more, but if you still think more would be good, order this along with the PC: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16815124007
    EDIT #3: I'm off to bed, let others comment on this if something's wrong. Oh gosh. You're in the UK and I didn't use scan.co.uk instead of newegg. Ah well, leaves you with a bit to do... I'll search scan tomorrow, if you have posted back. Otherwise I'm gonna forget about this thread and won't search scan. :rolleyes:
     
  3. KugarWeb

    KugarWeb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Excellent! Thanks for the great advice! :D. I just had a thought, since I'll be keeping both my monitor and TV with the new setup, I'll also need a VGA port and a monitor input which is wider than VGA, has more pins and is a bit thinner.

    I've been looking around at motherboards already and to be honest I'm not entirely sure what the port is so can't obviously can't decide on one!

    As for gaming, I probably won't be using it for gaming at all anymore since I don't really have the time for it and also I just invested in a Nintendo Wii so there's not much need for gaming on the PC at all anymore! :).

    The new system will likely be work-only (although I will be using Skype, Internet etc obviously) so will need to support lots of video editing and quite a bit of heavy use really :).

    EDIT: No problem about Scan, I can always have a look on there myself :) The newegg links have certainly got me some things to look over anyway so thanks very much for that! As for the case, and since I'm new to all this building stuff, what would you suggest I go for to suit the motherboards you listed? What specification am I actually looking for when matching a case to the motherboard? :)

    EDIT 2: I was just thinking just to save the pennies a bit, would I be able to simply transfer my old graphics card to my new system without problems? Another reason I ask is because this graphics card was perfectly fine for the odd game and I don't think I'll be buying any of the newer releases anyway :).
     
  4. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    The port is a DVI (digital video interface) I suspect, if it's on the monitor and/or the video card.
    Mine have one of each.

    Don't forget you will also need a new Windows version, the one you have cannot be transferred. That may force a shift to Vista? XP is getting hard to find.
     
  5. KugarWeb

    KugarWeb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Thanks for the tip about the monitor input :).

    As for the operating system I've got that all covered - I have a Windows 7 Trial and a fully working Windows Vista Business N version which I got from my University and I know works on this current setup, although it was sluggish! :)
     
  6. KugarWeb

    KugarWeb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Okay, I've been having a look on scan.co.uk and come up with the following system for around £690. Am I missing anything (apart from the graphics card which I can hopefully nick from my current system)?

    Motherboard: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Giga...1366-PCI-E-20-DDR3-1066-1600-2000-SATA-II-ATX

    CPU: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Inte...3-GHz-1066MHz-3MB-Cache-11x-Multiplier-Retail

    Case: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Cool...wer-Case-with-Cmaster-eXtreme-500W-PSU-Fitted

    DVDRW: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Sams...8-RW-x6-x12-DVD-RAM-PATA-Retail-inc-2x-Bezels

    RAM: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/6GB-...0MHz)-240-Pin-Non-ECC-Unbuffered-CAS-9-9-9-24

    FireWire Card: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Dyna...wire-(400)-PCI-Controller-VIA-Chipset-400Mbps

    HDD: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/1TB-...020011-SATA-300-7200-rpm-32MB-Cache-85-ms-NCQ

    Also, would I be able to get the NVidia 64MB GeForce4 Graphics Card (yes, I know...laugh lol) from my parent's computer and chuck it into my current system to get it fully working again or would this not be possible due to motherboard etc. conflicts?
     
  7. BG-0

    BG-0

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    6,922
    E7500 will not fit the X58 motherboard. And the RAM won't fit a motherboard where a E7500 fits.
    Motherboard for E7500: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/MSI-P45-Neo-F-iP45-S-775-PCI-E-20-(x16)-DDR2-667-800-SATA-II-ATX (and for E8400, Q6600 and Q9550)
    RAM: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/4GB-...800)-240-Pins-Non-ECC-Unbuffered-CAS-5-5-5-18 or http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/4GB-...6)-240Pin-Non-ECC-Unbuffered-CAS-5-5-5-15-EPP

    You can "nick" the graphics card with no problems. But, I'm pretty positive you can't use that Geforce4. But, if it's PCI-Express (the same slot as your X600), then it should work. But all in all, I'd just spend 25£ and get this: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/256M...00MHz-GPU-40-Cores-D-Sub-DLDVI-I-HDMI-HDCP-LP better and cooler.
    Now then, with the RAM being cheaper and mobo too, GET A BETTER CPU. http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Inte...30-GHz-1333MHz-6MB-Cache-9x-Multiplier-Retail or http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Inte...40-GHz-1066MHz-8MB-Cache-9x-Multiplier-Retail or http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Inte...S775-283-GHz-1333MHz-12MB-L2-Cache-85x-Retail (two of the latter recommended the most)

    Also, get a SATA DVD-burner: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Sams...x6-x14-RAM-SATA-L-Scribe-3-Bez-RetailplusNero
     
  8. KugarWeb

    KugarWeb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Thanks very much for taking the time to gather all this information BG-O :).

    Okay, so far I've got the following setup:
    Case: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Cool...wer-Case-with-Cmaster-eXtreme-500W-PSU-Fitted

    Motherboard: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/MSI-P45-Neo-F-iP45-S-775-PCI-E-20-(x16)-DDR2-667-800-SATA-II-ATX

    RAM: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/4GB-...800)-240-Pins-Non-ECC-Unbuffered-CAS-5-5-5-18

    CPU: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Inte...S775-283-GHz-1333MHz-12MB-L2-Cache-85x-Retail

    HDD: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/1TB-...020011-SATA-300-7200-rpm-32MB-Cache-85-ms-NCQ

    DVDRW: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Sams...x6-x14-RAM-SATA-L-Scribe-3-Bez-RetailplusNero

    FireWire Card: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Dyna...wire-(400)-PCI-Controller-VIA-Chipset-400Mbps

    And then a separate graphics card for my "old" computer (http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/256M...00MHz-GPU-40-Cores-D-Sub-DLDVI-I-HDMI-HDCP-LP).

    So the bottom line really is...if I bought all of the above, there wouldn't be any compatability issues and it would be suitable as a high-end system for video editing etc? :) Is there anything else I need to buy such as a better PSU or is the one with the case okay? Also, will all cables to connect it up be supplied with the parts or would I need to buy these as well?

    EDIT: I've just had a search for the GeForce 4 graphics card and it's an AGP...worth spending the £25 on a new one anyway I'd imagine :)
     
  9. BG-0

    BG-0

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    6,922
    One more note: if you're not going to overclock your CPU, might want to consider this board: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Giga...CI-E-20-(x16)-DDR2-1200-1066-667-SATA-300-ATX (overclocking won't propably be good with the MSI cheapo P45 either, so...)
    Graphics card for the "old" computer?? Noo.. That 3450 goes into the new one, x600 stays in the old one. No point putting a newer+better card into the old system.
    I'm not 100% convinced that the PSU coming with the case is enough for the powerful CPU, but... I would spend a little extra, get a cheap case (~25 £) and a PSU like this: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/550w-Corsair-VX-Series-PSU-ATX-PS-2-5-year-Warranty-see-specs
    Some cases: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Coolermaster-RC-331-Elite-Black-Silver-Midi-Tower-Case-w-o-PSU or http://www.scan.co.uk/Product.aspx?WebProductId=952861
     
  10. KugarWeb

    KugarWeb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Phew! Okay, this is all starting to fry my brain a little bit but I think I'm nearly there :).

    I've just been having another look at cases and come up with the following, since I wasn't sure of the styling of the ones on scan.co.uk. What about this one from X-Case? http://www.xcase.co.uk/p/298092/elite-330-blacksilver-midi-case-no-psu---.html. It's an ATX case like the others you mentioned...the only real question is, will everything else fit into it?

    Also, would it be good to get the bits from scan.co.uk or would I find them slightly cheaper somewhere else?

    Cheers,

    Andrew.
     
  11. BG-0

    BG-0

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    6,922
    Everything should fit in a ATX midtower case or bigger.
    I don't know about prices, scan is a good place with pretty decent prices, you can usually find a piece cheaper from somewhere else, but 75% of the other parts will cost more there...
     
  12. KugarWeb

    KugarWeb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Cool, thanks very much for your help with this BG-0! Now to find the cash and order it all up :).
     
  13. BG-0

    BG-0

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    6,922
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/795770

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice