1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: upgrading from a gt220 graphics card

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by therealarbiter, Apr 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. therealarbiter

therealarbiter Thread Starter

hi im upgrading from a gt220 and i want to know if my system can support the hd5670 because from the site gpureveiws i have read that the max power draws from the gt220 are 58w and the hd 5670 only 61 and i was wondering if my system could support gt220 could it support the hd5670 here is the link

http://www.gpureview.com/show_cards.php?card1=617&card2=623#

specs:
    dell inspiron 560
    amd phenom II 820 x4 @2.8 ghz
    nvidia geforce gt220
    6gb ddr3 ram
    windows 7

im a bit of a newbie to computer stuff so thats why im asking

2. Triple6

Triple6 Moderator

First Name:
    Rob
    Do you have the 560MT or 560ST? The MT is the regular size mid tower, the 560ST is a slim tower.

The MT has a weak 300 watt power supply, the ST has an even weaker 250 watt power supply. Dell uses power supplies that are just barely rated to handle the stock configuration. ATI recommends a 400 watt power supply. So you'll need a new power supply as well. FYI for the GT220 they recommend a 350 watt power supply.

3. therealarbiter

i have the mt version but i have heard of people running this card on a 300w powersupply should i upgrade just to be safe

4. Triple6

Triple6 Moderator

First Name:
    Rob
    Yes, you should. If the power supply fails because it was overloaded it can potentially take out the motherboard and video card.