1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Upgrading to XP Professional from XP Starter Edition

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by ChessPlayerRM, Mar 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ChessPlayerRM

ChessPlayerRM Thread Starter

Hi guys,

I've been using Windows XP Professional for several years and am quite happy with it. My roomate has a desktop that she bought some years ago and it came with Windows XP Starter Edition installed. Lately I've been trying to help her upgrade from her XP SE to XP Pro but before doing this I have some questions:

1. Is Windows XP SE at all upgradable to XP Pro? The reason I ask this is because:
    1.1 I accessed "How to install or upgrade to Windows XP" on http://support.microsoft.com/kb/316941, but it does not mention Windows XP Starter Edition as one of the options of OS to be upgraded (only mentions Win98, Windows ME and Windows 2000 Pro
    1.2 I also accessed http://www.comztek.com/Admin/ProdManager/dbview1.asp?name=228 and it says "You may not upgrade to Windows XP Professional from Windows XP Starter Edition,. as this goes against MicrosoftÂ’s End User License Agreement (EULA)"... is this true??​
    2. In case Windows XP SE can in fact be upgraded to XP Pro, I have 2 questions:
    2.1 To start the installation should I simply boot the desktop normally and then insert the Win XP CD on the CD-ROM unit and choose the option "upgrade"?​
    2.2 Will files in the desktop and installed programs be preserved? Or will my roomate need to install all the program she uses again? What about local files of Outlook Express and the MSN Messenger emoticons? Will these be lost?​

Any other recommendations??

My roomate already bought Win XP so I really hope she will make use of it and don't waste her money!