Solved: Urgent Can't login Account restricted

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Ziggy1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 17, 2002
Messages
2,551
We ll I got myself into a pickle, I was trying to disable the account login and ended up locking my self out of the computer. Now it comes up Account restricted and i can't login.

Microsoft says to get into safemode, to be able to change it back, but I can't get it into safemode. If I press F8 too soon, it stops the computer from booting. I tried several points along the way...once the floppy drive lights up it is the only point at which I can press F8 and the computer will continue to boot, but even with me pressing it repeatedly, It won't go to safe mode.


Help help :confused:
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Keep trying. Safe Mode is your best bet. Try holding down the Shift key just before Windows starts to boot and after the BIOS has done its thing.

What did you do?

Can you get into the Admin account and do you know the Admin password?
 

Ziggy1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 17, 2002
Messages
2,551
Normally my computer is et to login without a password, but I still have to click on the User (admin) icon (welcome screen). I wanted the computer to just load without having to click anything.


So I did start/run...control userpasswords2 ( somthing like that) to access the user login options. I unchecked to not use passwords or something like that, then In acount setup I unchecked the help screen....Now I [email protected]#$%


I can't even get into BIOS..I though if I could get my PC to boot from the CD then I could use the XP CD?
 

Ziggy1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 17, 2002
Messages
2,551
this sucks, I accidently hit the print screen key, and it printed out the safe mode screen. so it must come up , but my monitor has not activated at that point.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Sorry to say that getting into BIOS has nothing to do with Windows since all that happens before Windows even begins to load. You may have a more serious problem then just Windows.

Were you able to get into BIOS before? Being able to use the Recovery Console from a booted XP CD is often handy for repairs.

Did you do anything else to the machine?
 

Ziggy1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 17, 2002
Messages
2,551
well I've printed the safe menu twice, so I thought if I could arrow up 9 times and hit enter (Blindly because monitor is not on), I could get into safe mode.

No I didn't do anthing else, there was nothing wrong, I just wanted to change the login
 

Ziggy1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 17, 2002
Messages
2,551
grrr I hate my computer...stupid stupid stupid... I run dual monitors, I switched them around and now I can see everything, I got into safemode I can see everything. It's unbeliveable that the other monitor would not start with the regular connection.

So now it is working, thanks for the hel Elvandil
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
I guess we cross-posted. Great job! Thanks for following up.

You can mark the thread "solved" using the Thread Tools if you are done.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top