Solved: URGENT!!!!!!!Computer shuts down!!!!!!!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

elvla2

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2007
Messages
232
Computer Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
EVGA 132-YW-E180-A1 NVIDIA nForce 790i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard
4GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 1800
2 Western Digital 320GB SATA
1 LG Bluray DVD-ROM/ DVD R/W
1 ULTRA PSU 750 Watts LSP750
XFX Nvidia GEForce 9800GX2 1GB

I built it and when I turn it on I get a display, but after a minute or two it turns off by itself.

Please help!!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks to all of you.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2005
Messages
11,670
My first two guesses would either be the processor overheating or the power supply is dropping out.

Normally, when a processor overheats it doesn't take it two minutes. An Ultra Power Supply is a pretty minimal power supply to try to run two 9800 series cards. Does the exhaust air coming out of the power supply seem unusually hot?
 

elvla2

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2007
Messages
232
My first two guesses would either be the processor overheating or the power supply is dropping out.

Normally, when a processor overheats it doesn't take it two minutes. An Ultra Power Supply is a pretty minimal power supply to try to run two 9800 series cards. Does the exhaust air coming out of the power supply seem unusually hot?
I only have one 9800GX2 1GB Video Card.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2005
Messages
11,670
Take a digital multi-meter with a set of needle probes and when the machine is running probe the +12v connectors on the main power plug where it plugs into the board (yellow wires) and see if you are getting a drop in voltage before the machine shuts off.

You will need to test each +12v line individually.
 

elvla2

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2007
Messages
232
Take a digital multi-meter with a set of needle probes and when the machine is running probe the +12v connectors on the main power plug where it plugs into the board (yellow wires) and see if you are getting a drop in voltage before the machine shuts off.

You will need to test each +12v line individually.
I will try this test today and 2morrow I will post again.

Thank you win2kpro, you are the best
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2008
Messages
4
You say that you get a display, is it the post display or does windows boot up completely?
 

elvla2

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2007
Messages
232
You say that you get a display, is it the post display or does windows boot up completely?
I don't have Windows installed but I went into the bios change the date, save and reboot. And when I went to install Windows and shows "Press any key to install Windows" I pressed any key and right there it just shuts off.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2008
Messages
4
I assume you are installing from a disc, make sure that you set the first boot device to your cd/dvd drive and you set allow boot from cd, in the bios setup. The bios will shut down the computer if it can't find an operating system.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2003
Messages
5,602
I The bios will shut down the computer if it can't find an operating system.
never seen that happen :confused:

do u have the heatsink attached right? try reseating it (u may have to reapply the thermal paste)
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2005
Messages
11,670
I guess I misunderstood your first post. I thought the machine was booting, and then shutting down after a couple of minutes. If you don't have Windows installed, then you don't need to test the power supply at this time.
 

elvla2

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2007
Messages
232
I changed the Video Card and replaced it with a lower one, plus I had to take out a hard drive. And it worked!!!!!! It let me do everything, I even installed Windows and the drivers. Do you think it might be the power supply?
 
Joined
May 12, 2007
Messages
2,485
From reading all above, yes it does sound like the PSU. You have reduced the power consumption by changing cards and taking out a HD, so it seems you havent enough power. It might be that the amps for the 9800 from the PSU arent enough ( quite likely really).
thats not saying the PSU is faulty, its probably fine, just not enough for what you have. I am not good with US suppliers/ parts ( gime UK I can give you plenty hehe), but I am sure someone can recommend a good one that isnt too expensive :)
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2005
Messages
11,670
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top