[SOLVED] URGENT HDD Problem... not showing up !!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Cymru Wolf

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2004
Messages
44
I have just installed a new HDD (2nd) and it isn't showing up in windows. :confused:
It does however show up in the Bios and also in Device Manager. Also there are no conflicts and it is says running properly. :rolleyes:

Someone did tell me that it needs to be allocated a drive letter,
to be done in Control Panel... but I cannot find where !! :eek:

Before I can use it I obviously need to format it, but I cannot even do that if its not showing.
I am really desperate as this is my only day off and I need to get this sorted today !! :rolleyes:
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
try this
delete it from the device manager
then click on the monitor icon at the top to scan for h/w changes
when windows reinstalls see if you can see it
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,097
The drive must be partitioned and formatted before you can see it in windows. Go to disk management [you can go start>run type diskmgmt.msc] right click on the drive and click create partition. You will need to choose either a primary or an extended. If this is just for data, I would choose extended. Right click again and choose format; format with ntfs and you will see a drive letter and be able to copy files to the drive.
 

Cymru Wolf

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2004
Messages
44
Cheers guys,

Looks like its going well with your information. :D

One question though....
Why is it only letting me creating only 4 partitions ?
That would make 4x30Gb partitions !!
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2003
Messages
71
are you sating that you have a 120gig HD that only lets you divide it up into 4*30 gig partitions ?.

if so i had the same problem and ended up having to set the jumpers to cable select and letting windows detect the HD on its own......
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,097
What does disk management show? Are you trying to format as fat32 or ntfs? What os are you using?
 

Cymru Wolf

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2004
Messages
44
I am using NTFS & Win XP.
It is now set at 4 x 30Gb HDD. Think I'll leave it like that now LMAO
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,097
It only lets you create 4 partitions because that is the limit for one basic disk. You can have 3 primary and one extended partition; inside the extended partition you can create one or more logical drives. So you can have more than just 4 drives; just not more than 4 partitions on one basic physical disk.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top