1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: USB External HDD

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Rocky_tipper, Mar 21, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Rocky_tipper

Rocky_tipper Thread Starter

Hi All
    My USB 500GB Fujitsu MHZ2500BT G2 external hard drive is recognized by the computer. It installed and shows it is working properly but I can not see it in computer or in disk. It is listed in device manager USB section. No exclamation. If I restart the computer it is there listed in computer. Can not see it after computer wakes from sleep state.
    I have removed it from device manager and reinstalled device. Nothing I have tried works except a reboot. I have been using this HD for 2 years on this system with no issues at all untill now. Have tried all suggestion I could find from the tech site and still nothing works. Because I could not find a solution, I purchased another HDD - Seagate 1tb goflex and still same thing.
    Please help. Thank you

Computer Specs
    OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Business , Service Pack 2, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T7250 @ 2.00GHz, x64 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 13
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 3581 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT , 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 139746 MB, Free - 56046 MB; D: Total - 10239 MB, Free - 6309 MB; G: Total - 953868 MB, Free - 951816 MB;
    Motherboard: Dell Inc., 0WY040, , .9VCDDF1.CN4864377Q2708.
    Antivirus: avast! Antivirus, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled

2. Techtatane

Techtatane

I had seen this issue with an HP printer : the solution was to update driver.
    the issue was caused by an windows update incompatible with the older driver.

look out for new drivers of your hard drive

good luck

3. malar

malar