1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: USB Sound Card - 2.0 Audio Input / Output Sound Card

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by swarint, Sep 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. swarint

    swarint Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    127
    Friends,
    A lil' confused so need some expert adv.

    Just wish to reconfirm, this USB PNP, IF it will record/SAVE
    from my audio cassette player to my desk top,using WIN XP PRO ! I wish to transfer songs from audio cassettes to my desk top which does not have a sound card.I have the COOL RECORDER in case that helps, does it ?
    .
    Earlier I have used the TV tuner card which did the job of such a transfer but that went kaput.

    Thx for yr help.Cheers(y)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Yes,it should.
    Most PC's have sound on the motherboard.
    Is there some reason yours is not working?
     
  3. swarint

    swarint Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    127
    Hei Leroys,
    Nice to hear from you on this Forum.
    No nothing wrong with sound on my desk top, can play all files.
    But I can not record and save from my cassette deck >HD, maybe I am missing out on something?, will appreciate if yu can enlighten if and how to do it pls. Thx a lot
    Cheers
     
  4. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    For XP,go to start/control panel/sounds and audio devices.
    Should be under the audio tab.
    Select your audio device for recording.
    The black jack on the back of the computer should be line in.
     
  5. swarint

    swarint Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    127
    I have tried with out the USB sound card, and no luck. I will purchase USB sound card only if it will help me to record, so pls reconfirm if this hardware is compulsory. Thx
     
  6. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Check the options in the software and see if you
    can select the onboard sound.
     
  7. swarint

    swarint Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    127
    Sry Leroys if I misunderstand, which software shud I check for options ?, btw this is what I see on my desk top !!! I have not installed the USB PNP as I am not sure if this is a must to record and save !!! Sry inconv.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    It would be the software program that you are using to record.
    You may need to change the recording device in the options.
    You said you were using cool recorder.
    You have line in showing there,so you should be able to use it.
     
  9. swarint

    swarint Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    127
    Tried that, both options - Line in and Player In, no luck I can see files being recorded and saved but when yu play it, no sound. Did Mediainfo on the saved files and they show all specs like MP3, duration etc, but no sound :confused:

    Also tried Total Recorder, Same result unfort:(.

    I have a feeling I will have to go for a internal sound card, because someone told me the USB sound card does not guarantee a good result:rolleyes:.
    Any comments or other solutions bro which I can try.;)
    Cheers and thx for your time and effort
     
  10. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    If you can actually see the music being recorded,it sounds like you
    might have an MP3 playback problem.
    Check your settings in the volume control settings and
    sound and audio devices in the control panel for playback.
    Try downloading an MP3 song from the web and see if it
    plays and let me know.
    I also notice in your picture you have a small number of
    controls.
    You may be using the default windows driver for the sound
    and not getting full functionality.
    You might want to download and install the driver from realtek,
    or the motherboard or computer manufacturer.
     
  11. swarint

    swarint Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    127
    You were right Leroys, my driver for sound was not updated after I had done reformat some months ago, so now I have the latest Realtek driver
    but unfort recording is still a problem. I followed all your steps, I can see some content being recorded (though the level meter is just moving up and down a wee bit, I wud have thought the level would hop a bit more !).
    The Medianfo confirms these saved recordings are MP3, etc
    And I do not have any problems playing any MP3 files downloaded from the net or for that matter can play all DVDs, VCDs, ACDs etc.
    Somewhere along the line def a settings problem but I am totally blanked out:confused:.
    Any suggestions what more we can do ???
    Thx once again for all yr time and effort(y).
    Cheers
     
  12. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    You should have a small AVRack icon in the taskbar.
    Doubleclick it and make sure the proper jack is assigned
    to line in and you have the audio plugged in there.
    Then turn the line in volume all the way up in
    the volume control.
    Check for line out controls on your cassette too,
    you may need to turn those up a bit.
     
  13. swarint

    swarint Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    127
    All the settings as per your adv Leroys.
    Now I suspect the recording lead, I am using the one that came with the cassette player, its a
    2 pin jack into the cassette player
    and one pin jack to the sound card into the PC
    And this is the 3.5 mm one. Which is wrong?

    Its gotta be ? the 2.5 mm, this is what we use normally when we connect our speakers to the PC, we are so used to the older cables that I am sure this has slipped out of my mind.
    Bcos with the 3.5 mm, even the radio from the cassette player does not work on the speakers of the PC.
    I must try with the 2.5 mm stereo jack or if I am lucky I may have a adapter jack lying somewhere.
    How does this' theory' sound to you ???:)
    Cheers
     
  14. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Really would need to know what type of cassette player it is.
    If it is a portable,then it should be a 3.5 mm male to male
    stereo cable.
    Sounds like you may be trying to use a mono cable.
    If it is a stereo component from a home stereo,you
    would need a 3.5mm to RCA cable.
     
  15. swarint

    swarint Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    127
    It is Samsung RCD VS 30 portable VCD system and yer right then it uses
    3.5 mm male to male, For sake of good order pls have a look at the image and confirm if it is the same as a lil unsure because I think it is a 2 pin mono into the PC?. And I need a 3 pin stereo ???
    The Samsung has white and red audio out.
    Await for your comments.
    Cheers
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/748618

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice