1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Usbehci.sys

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by azthatzme, May 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. azthatzme

    azthatzme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Hello,
    Toshiba Sattelite P305-S8837 Laptop.
    When I tried running XP Pro Install Disk I got this message.
    USBEHCI.SYS is corrupted.
    Is there a fix? Is it on the HD or the MB?
    Thank You,
    AZ:cool:
    I just tried again and this time the message was;
    "Setup did not find any hard disk drives installed on your computer".
    (The reason I was trying to re-install XP is because my computer will not boot-up to Windows).
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    16,227
    There are two main causes of this error.
    One is that the XP install disc does not have the USB driver for your system usually when you are trying to load XP with out the SP1/2 included. The usual answer is to slipstream SP2.
    The other cause is a scratched CD.
    HOWEVER the second error message leads me to suspect faulty ram or a failing HDD/IDE cable.
    See if the computer will boot to BIOS and the HDD is recognised.
    Run memtest on two passes.
    http://www.memtest.org/
    OR run Toshiba diagnostics usually F11 I think.
    Will it boot safe mode on F8
    Here is the link to the instruction manual it does not appear to have inbuilt diagnostics.
    http://www.csd.toshiba.com/cgi-bin/tais/support/jsp/modelContent.jsp?ct=DL&moid=2070189&src=EXPL
     
  4. azthatzme

    azthatzme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Thx
    I tried but couldn't get into Safe Mode. I was in Bios and was able to get Setup by changing the boot order to CD/DVD drive instead of Hdd1. I suspect the HD or a Virus. I'm ready to try my luck w/ a new HD. I'll try your suggestion.
    I appreciate your help:)
    AZ
     
  5. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    16,227
    What happened when you tried to boot to Safe Mode on F8
     
  6. azthatzme

    azthatzme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Nothing.
    When I boot up I get a Windows Advanced Option Menu.
    One option is Safe Mode but when I choose it (or any other option) it just cycles back to the same Menu.
    (I tried F8 too)
     
  7. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    16,227
  8. azthatzme

    azthatzme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    I'll have to try it in the morning as I have to leave now for the evening.
    I sure appreciate! I'll let you know what happens.
    Enjoy your evening.
    AZ
     
  9. helpful

    helpful

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    697
    "Setup did not find any hard disk drives installed on your computer".

    Probably due to the setup disk missing the text mode drivers for your sata controller. Either create a F6 floppy disk or slipstream the text mode drivers into the XP setup cd to upgrade/repair your existing windows xp install

    Link to required Text Mode Drivers:

    http://downloadmirror.intel.com/18860/eng/f6flpy96x86.zip
     
  10. azthatzme

    azthatzme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    I'm sorry but that is a little beyond my expertise and time-frame.
    (Getting ready for summer art festivals.)
    I can buy a new HD just like the one I have for $58 plus shpg.
    Do you think I should get a new cable?
    If that doesn't work I'll do the next thing.
    (Take it and get it fixed;-O) (The laptop cost me $1200.00).
    I have all my stuff backed-up on an external HD so I'm not worried about losing anything.
    Tell me if I'm being foolish...:-O
    Will you help me if I have prob's w/ XP Pro install?;-)
    Thank you!
    Sincerely,
    AZ
    P.S. I wish I had your expertise.
    I'm just a Dreamer-Artist.
    Peace
     
  11. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    16,227
    That is the last thing I would do, until you know that the present HD is faulty.
    It could be ram, the CD, the CD drive, the motherboard, etc.
    At what stage in the installation from the CD did you receive the message re: USB and then no drive found.
    Please answer that and do as I asked by running memtest.
     
  12. azthatzme

    azthatzme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Sorry. I hope I haven't offended you, but I have so many things going on right now that I couldn't even focus on the instructions for memtest. I'll try again now, and let you know what I find. (if you're still around).
    Thank You,
    AZ
     
  13. azthatzme

    azthatzme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    I am running Memtest.
    Testing memory...
     
  14. azthatzme

    azthatzme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Opened BIOS and switched SATA to Compatibility and that fixed it.
    Thank You for your help! I sincerely appreciate it :)
    Enjoy!
    AZ
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/925420