1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Use files simultaneously in Word & Excel

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by reallylovessleep, Feb 19, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. reallylovessleep

    reallylovessleep Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Is there a way to configure Microsoft applications so that I can have a window open with a file from Word and a window open with an Excel file and edit them simultaneously? When I have both windows open now, whichever one I click in stays open and the other automatically minimizes itself. I'd also like to be able to have a Microsoft file and browser window open (and editable) and the same time.
    Many thanks!
    Abigail
     
  2. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,091
    First Name:
    David
    If you are asking to be able to change 2 different files at the same time, then the answer is no.
     
  3. reallylovessleep

    reallylovessleep Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    I mean I want to be able to do things like cut a cell from an excel file and paste it into a word doc without one of them closing on me. Or even just keep one up as reference while I make changes to the other one.
     
  4. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,297
    yeah, that's just 'windows'.......below is my desktop with it's open windows. I just hit alt-tab at the same time to move through them.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,922
    First Name:
    Rob
    Yes, that has been possible since Windows 3.1. Simply use the ALT and TAB key to switch between open programs, ALT plus ESC also easily switches between two programs. So you would press and hold down the ALT key and then press the TAB key until it goes to the program you want to switch too. You can also click on the icon for the program you want to switch too on the task bar at the bottom of your screen. Pressing the Windows Key along with the TAB key also allows you to see and to switch between open programs.
     
  6. reallylovessleep

    reallylovessleep Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    I need them both open -and viewable- at the same time though, so I can compare data from one to the other. I should have clarified that the programs aren't "closed" they're minimized.
     
  7. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,297
    so just re-size them so you have one on one side on one on the other.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. reallylovessleep

    reallylovessleep Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Valis, I did resize them but as soon as you click in one, the other one minimizes itself.
     
  9. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,297
    how are you clicking on them? Did you see my screen shot? I don't even use the mouse, just hit alt and tab at the same time to toggle between them.
     
  10. reallylovessleep

    reallylovessleep Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Ah- I see now that they *both* need to be resized in order to stop one of them from minimizing. Thanks!
     
  11. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,297
    no worries, sorta what we're here for. :)
     
  12. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,922
    First Name:
    Rob
  13. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,297
    Forgot about the snap feature, thanks.

    I remember when I tried the dual monitors....was so used to alt-tab that, after a month or so,, I realized all I was using the second monitor for was a dust gatherer.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1143391

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice