1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Using consumer Level motherboards with Server CPUs

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by mike360x1, Nov 25, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mike360x1

mike360x1 Thread Starter

I was looking around the web and thinking of a solution for a multipurpose computer...
    so I came across the solution of using a server with VMs. Just to let you know. I'm a first time server builder.

So I thought of starting from a motherboard. I thought of a consumer level motherboard. (Since I'm not looking for a 150$+ motherboard Server motherboards are too expensive also I don't need 3 PCI x2.0 Ports and there are some functions that consumer boards have that servers don't IE: UEFI by asus)

Anyways... I looked at some consumer boards.. Found this : http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131724
    it was nice. It satisfied my needs and it fit the bill. It had a LGA 1155 socket but under that it said: CPU types. and it showed i3 i5 and i7. I'm looking for a Intel Xeon series since they are more stable overclocked and have higher reliability since this might be on for 24 hrs.

So. enough talk.. heres my question. Would Server cpus be compatable with consumer motherboards like this one?

2. ChRoNo16

ChRoNo16

Just get an i7 and be done with it.

a server class CPU isnt made for that board, and an i7 is perfectly stable, I never shut mine down and it has never crashed. I run 3 server vm's in the backround while gaming on the same box, never stumbles.

3. prunejuice

prunejuice

Not sure why you'd want to overclock a processor on a server.

What is the function of this server anyway?

4. mike360x1

mike360x1 Thread Starter