1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Using external mic with combo audio input/output jack

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Historian, Jun 25, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Historian

    Historian Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    I am one of those unfortunate souls with a laptop that has a single jack both for audio output and microphone input. When I plug a lapel mic into it, the computer doesn't even notice it's there, and keeps making me use its crummy internal mic. How do I persuade it to check to see if maybe I have an external mic plugged in? If I had a dedicated mic input jack, I am fairly confident it would work.

    I've heard a lot of people struggle with this single-jack thing. What do I do? Thanks.
     
  2. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    94,998
    First Name:
    Mark
    Usually in the audio properties you can configure the jacks as you intend to use them. It may take a little digging, perhaps in some advance settings.
     
  3. Historian

    Historian Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks. I tried that; I don't see where I can do anything about the jacks. Looking at sound devices under Control Panel yields nothing of interest.
     
  4. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    94,998
    First Name:
    Mark
    What kind of computer? What OS?
     
  5. Historian

    Historian Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Do you need more than that it's an HP laptop running 64-bit Windows 7?
     
  6. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    94,998
    First Name:
    Mark
    Can you provide a model number?
     
  7. Historian

    Historian Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    A6x71ua#aba
     
  8. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    94,998
    First Name:
    Mark
    Per the User Guide for your system:
    NOTE:
    The microphone function is operational only when used with a headphone/microphone unit that has a 4-conductor audio connector.
     
  9. Historian

    Historian Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Waaah. Thanks. I guess this is now technically solved. Why would they do that? Makes no sense. Who would prefer having reduced microphone functionality?
     
  10. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    94,998
    First Name:
    Mark
    I guess it saves real estate ... ;-)
     
  11. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    94,998
    First Name:
    Mark
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1102072

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice