1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: VBA Alternate Way to get User Input not in a Form

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by mariaa33, Mar 12, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mariaa33

    mariaa33 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    164
    I have a form now that won't work for many folks because of "Form Controls stop working after December 2014 Updates". The fixes provided do not work for most people and many won't even attempt the hot fixes. I am trying to figure out a workaround. I know I can use WorksheetChange to get when an entry is put in a cell but I need to be able run a macro for a second entry and then display results in a third cell. On the ones with out the issue, right now on my form they put text in first box and it runs a macro (afterupdate) to validate certain things and then when they enter in the second text box, it runs another macro to validate that entry. Then they click a button to execute a third macro to get the results. Is there a way to do that without a form and command buttons?
     
  2. OBP

    OBP

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,895
    You can use a pair of input boxes or Application.Inputboxes.
    If you use the inputbox you may have to do some text to number conversions, whereas the Application inputbox can pre specify whether the data to be expected is string, number or cell reference etc.
    It can be triggured by a macro Keyboard shortcut or an Excel Event.
     
  3. Rollin_Again

    Rollin_Again

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    4,912
    Did you create your own true custom form using the VB editor or are you embedding the controls directly into a worksheet?
     
  4. mariaa33

    mariaa33 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    164
    I created the form with vb editor that popped up when open the wkbook. The form also allowed the user to close the form and view the data. If they wanted to use the form then there was a command button they could select to bring back up the form. However I have now re-written the code to use inputboxes that is working fine for everyone.
     
  5. OBP

    OBP

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,895
    Good. (y)
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1144631

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice