Solved: Video bad with media player?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sgl1

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 6, 2001
Messages
485
I've never encountered this issue before but whenever I try to play any video file using WM player 9 or 6.4 the color is washed out. Thats the best way to describe it. How can I correct this?






Logfile of HijackThis v1.98.2
Scan saved at 12:28:37 PM, on 6/25/2005
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\aswUpdSv.exe
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashServ.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\CTsvcCDA.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\EPSON\EBAPI\SAgent2.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Dantz\RETROS~1\retrorun.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\MsPMSPSv.exe
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashMaiSv.exe
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashWebSv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\PROGRA~1\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashDisp.exe
C:\Program Files\Creative\SB Live! 24-bit\Surround Mixer\CTSysVol.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\InterVideo\FastTVSync\FastTVSync.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Maxtor\OneTouch\Utils\OneTouch.exe
C:\WINDOWS\MXOALDR.EXE
C:\Program Files\Iomega\DriveIcons\ImgIcon.exe
C:\Program Files\kb_2k.exe
C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_02\bin\jusched.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\RUNDLL32.EXE
C:\Program Files\Messenger\MSMSGS.EXE
C:\Program Files\Creative\MediaSource\Go\CTCMSGo.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\rundll32.exe
C:\Program Files\Logitech\MouseWare\system\em_exec.exe
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Distillr\AcroTray.exe
C:\Program Files\Gigabyte\Gigabyte Windows Utility Manager\gwum.exe
C:\Program Files\InterVideo\DVD5R\SchSvr.exe
C:\Program Files\Corel\Print House 2000\Register\Remind32.exe
C:\Program Files\Microsoft AntiSpyware\gcasDtServ.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Yahoo!\MESSEN~1\ymsgr_tray.exe
C:\Program Files\Microsoft AntiSpyware\gcasServ.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\mmc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\DfrgNtfs.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\SGL\My Documents\Programs\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/cus.../*http://www.yahoo.com/ext/search/search.html
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/sp/ymsgr6/*http://www.yahoo.com
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/su/ymsgr6/*http://www.yahoo.com
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/cus.../*http://www.yahoo.com/ext/search/search.html
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/sp/ymsgr6/*http://www.yahoo.com
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/su/ymsgr6/*http://www.yahoo.com
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Helper - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar2.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar2.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [avast!] C:\PROGRA~1\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashDisp.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CTSysVol] C:\Program Files\Creative\SB Live! 24-bit\Surround Mixer\CTSysVol.exe /r
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [UpdReg] C:\WINDOWS\UpdReg.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Logitech Utility] Logi_MwX.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NeroFilterCheck] C:\WINDOWS\system32\NeroCheck.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [FastTVSync] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\InterVideo\FastTVSync\FastTVSync.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MaxtorOneTouch] C:\PROGRA~1\Maxtor\OneTouch\Utils\OneTouch.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MXO Auto Loader] C:\WINDOWS\MXOALDR.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Iomega Startup Options] C:\Program Files\Iomega\Common\ImgStart.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Iomega Drive Icons] C:\Program Files\Iomega\DriveIcons\ImgIcon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [gcasServ] "C:\Program Files\Microsoft AntiSpyware\gcasServ.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Keyboard ] C:\Program Files\kb_2k.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_02\bin\jusched.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MSMSGS] "C:\Program Files\Messenger\MSMSGS.EXE" /background
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Creative MediaSource Go] C:\Program Files\Creative\MediaSource\Go\CTCMSGo.exe /SCB
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Yahoo! Pager] "C:\PROGRA~1\Yahoo!\MESSEN~1\ypager.exe" -quiet
O4 - Startup: Corel Print House Registration.lnk = C:\Program Files\Corel\Print House 2000\Register\Remind32.exe
O4 - Global Startup: Acrobat Assistant.lnk = C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Distillr\AcroTray.exe
O4 - Global Startup: Adobe Reader Speed Launch.lnk = C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\Reader\reader_sl.exe
O4 - Global Startup: EPSON Status Monitor 3 Environment Check 2.lnk = C:\WINDOWS\system32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\E_SRCV02.EXE
O4 - Global Startup: gwum.lnk = C:\Program Files\Gigabyte\Gigabyte Windows Utility Manager\gwum.exe
O4 - Global Startup: InterVideo Scheduler server.lnk = C:\Program Files\InterVideo\DVD5R\SchSvr.exe
O4 - Global Startup: InterVideo WinCinema Manager.lnk = C:\Program Files\InterVideo\Common\Bin\WinCinemaMgr.exe
O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10\OSA.EXE
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmsearch.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward Links - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmbacklinks.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Cached Snapshot of Page - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmcache.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~3\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O8 - Extra context menu item: Similar Pages - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmsimilar.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate into English - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmtrans.html
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_02\bin\npjpi150_02.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_02\bin\npjpi150_02.dll
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
O12 - Plugin for .wav: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\PLUGINS\npqtplugin.dll
O16 - DPF: {39B0684F-D7BF-4743-B050-FDC3F48F7E3B} (FilePlanet Download Control Class) - http://www.fileplanet.com/fpdlmgr/cabs/FPDC_1_0_0_44.cab
O16 - DPF: {6414512B-B978-451D-A0D8-FCFDF33E833C} (WUWebControl Class) - http://update.microsoft.com/windowsupdate/v6/V5Controls/en/x86/client/wuweb_site.cab?1119488475908



MOTHERBOARD: (754-pin Socket) GigaByte GA-K8NS nForce3 250 Chipset AGP8X w/LAN,USB2,&Audio
CPU: (754-pin) AMD™ ATHLON™64 3000+ CPU w/ Hyper Transport Technology
MEMORY: 1GB PC3200 400mgz DDR MEMORY (GEIL VALUE RAM)
VIDEO: NVIDIA GeForce-FX 5200 128MB DDR W/ TV OUT & DVI
SOUND: Creative Labs SB LIVE 24.bit 7.1
 

sgl1

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 6, 2001
Messages
485
Found a fix. Never had to do this before but hey, it seems to work.

Went into Media Player Options/Performance/Advanced and changed Video Acceleration from use overlays to use high quality mode. Bada bing! All my color is back.
 

Cheeseball81

Retired Moderator
Joined
Mar 3, 2004
Messages
84,315
I don't see anything in the log that could cause this.

Athough that is an old version of Hijack This.

You can post a new log with the latest version: http://thespykiller.co.uk/files/hijackthis_sfx.exe

Let it extract to C:\Program Files.

Can you explain "washed out"?
Is the picture flickering or choppy? Do you see pink or green lines?

Edit: Saw your reply. Glad it's resolved. (y)
You can mark your thread "Solved" from the Thread Tools drop down menu.
 

sgl1

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 6, 2001
Messages
485
Well Hell. Now none of my manual adjustments for the video work. Grrrr!!!
 

Cheeseball81

Retired Moderator
Joined
Mar 3, 2004
Messages
84,315
Make sure you have the latest version of DirectX.

Try lowering your Video Acceleration.
 

sgl1

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 6, 2001
Messages
485
Cheeseball81 said:
I don't see anything in the log that could cause this.

Athough that is an old version of Hijack This.

You can post a new log with the latest version: http://thespykiller.co.uk/files/hijackthis_sfx.exe

Let it extract to C:\Program Files.

Can you explain "washed out"?
Is the picture flickering or choppy? Do you see pink or green lines?

Edit: Saw your reply. Glad it's resolved. (y)
You can mark your thread "Solved" from the Thread Tools drop down menu.
Well its resolved sorta. The color is ok but now I can't adjust the video slider bars for contrast, brightness, etc. This is aggravating. I did recently update my video drivers (Nvidia) to the newest but why would that alter anything?
By "washed out" I meant, no color depth, saturation, etc. But when I adjust the saturation with the slider bar it really didn't help.

And thanks for the Hijack tip. Figured it was old. Done.
 

sgl1

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 6, 2001
Messages
485
Cheeseball81 said:
Make sure you have the latest version of DirectX.

Try lowering your Video Acceleration.
DirectX 9.0c

I just discovered the video control sliders don't work at all after restetting everything to default. Now adjusting video acceleration down did help, but the sliders still do not work. And I never had this trouble before. So its something buggy somewhere.
 

sgl1

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 6, 2001
Messages
485
Still having the problem. Video appearing not exactly washed out but too bright. When brightness is adjusted its still too low. Foggy looking.

If I go into options/performance/advanced and click use high quality mode instead of use overlays it gets better but still not the way it should look. And I also have an older version of media player that I use that is the same way. I believe it has to do with my updated video drivers and I'd like to install the older ones but I'm not quite sure how I hate to admit.

I'm given a list of components to remove and I'm not sure which is the video.

Nvidia audio driver
Nvidia Ethernet driver components
Nvidia Gart driver
Nvidia IDE driver (I'd assume this one)
Nvidia nForce PCI system management driver



I hope someone can shed some light on this.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top