Solved: Video Upgrade

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Noyb

Jay
Thread Starter
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,213
This Computer was on sale for Christmas ... (a refurb)

I’d like to upgrade it to run dual displays .. (I’ll mainly be using it to edit videos, author DVDs and upload to YouTube)
I’m wondering if this PSU and Video Card will work ... or if anyone has better suggestions for "about" $100 or less ???

The PCI Express x16 slot (Gen 3.0) has me confused … Is this the same as a PCI Express 3.0 x 16 ??
Would This be a better choice for a video card ??
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
The computer already supports dual monitors, one by VGA and one by DVI-D. Do either of the monitors have DVI or HDMI?

If neither monitor has a digital input then that PSU and GPU should work.

Does your video editing software support GPU hardware acceleration, if it does then you may want a better card that is supported by the software to improve rendering speed.
 

Noyb

Jay
Thread Starter
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,213
I couldn't get the dual video to work ... The second monitor doesn't show when connected via DVI-D>VGA ???
I'm using Windows Movie Maker 2012 and W7's DVD maker ???
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Nope, DVI-D(Digital) cannot be convert to VGA(Analog) without a converter box. Only DVI-A or DVI-I whioch have analog signals can be converted to VGA. Not sure that the converter is intended for.

So neither monitor DVI or HDMI?

Neither of those programs benefit from adding a video card, no GPU hardware acceleration.
 

Noyb

Jay
Thread Starter
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,213
So neither monitor DVI or HDMI?
DVI-D .. But the run is longer than my available DVI cables ...
I think I'll order an extension ... And still think about the Card and PSU.
Many Thanks.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top