1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Vista and Realtek audio drivers...

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by sgaltair, Jul 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sgaltair

    sgaltair Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Ok so I've had this problem before but now it doesn't seem to want to be fixed.

    Windows Update installed Realtek audio drivers, which effectively disabled my sound altogether. Great. So I went looking for a fix. Apparently that fix is to download the Realtek '97 drivers, and install them, after uninstalling my previous driver. So I do that, but during the setup for the driver windows says it cannot verify the author blah blah blah, what's new? The problem is, when I click install anyway, it pauses for a minute or so and prompts me again.. I went through this little runaround about six times before I gave up. Any ideas?
     
  2. BG-0

    BG-0

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    6,922
    Run the exe as administrator and it could get through more likely.

    Anyways. Go to motherboard/computer(if it's a factory-built box) manufacturer site and download latest audio drivers, not just any Realtek AC97 drivers some random person on teh intrawebs links to you. Then do the above.
     
  3. sgaltair

    sgaltair Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    I ran it as administrator, no go. Went to compaqs site, downloaded the original and updated drivers, neither would install, returned this error:
    Error: C:\Users\user\AppData\Local\Temp\pft6684.tmp\
    3052: Uninitialized Variable or undefined function
    If (OSLangDec=="1028" || OSLangDec=="2052" || OSLangDec=="3076") Then

    That's all the info on the error. Ran them both as admin.
     
  4. sgaltair

    sgaltair Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Ok well I fixed it. I couldn't honestly tell you how, but I did. Thanks for the help anyway ;-)
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Vista Realtek
  1. MasterVon
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    146
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/843778

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice