1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Vista Business Wireless Woes

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Nicr, Nov 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Nicr

    Nicr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    I'm strugling to setup my 2 home HP Notebooks wireless network to connect to my ADSL router, my machine is a HP NW8440, 2 Gig mem, Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG, I had XP sp2 loaded previously and it was a cinch to get wireless working. I have tried 2 wireless routers, a netgear DG834G, which i upgraded to the latest firmware and a service providor supplied unit simply marked as telkom ADSL 5102G. I have tried no security and wpa-personal with tkip encrypion. I can see the router, it accepts the passphrase and I appear to connect at radio level but no Ip address is assigned no def gateway etc.. I have the same problems with both notebooks.

    Any ideas, what am I missing????:confused:
     
  2. www.pc-repair.ie

    www.pc-repair.ie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Have you tried, from the command prompt

    ipconfig /?

    what does it say?
     
  3. Nicr

    Nicr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Hi surely that will just give me the various switches for IPconfig? Did you mean /all?

    If so this is the result?
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Con
    nection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-02-45-22-24
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Try with no encryption on the router first to get it connected. If you still have issues, try the following solutions.

    Changes that may help to increase the compatibility of Vista with older networking devices:



    Disable the IP Helper service:

    1. Go to Start and type in "services.msc" (without the quotes) and press Enter
    2. Scroll down to the IP Helper service, right click on it and select Properties
    3. In the dropdown box that says "Automatic" or "Manual", set it to Disabled and then click on "Apply"
    4. Then click on "Stop" to stop the service from running in the current session
    5. Click OK to exit the dialog



    Disable IPv6:

    1. Go to Start and type in "ncpa.cpl" (without the quotes) and press Enter
    2. Right click on each network connection and select "Properties"
    3. Remove the checkmark from the box next to "Internet Protocol Version 6 (TCP/IPv6)
    4. Click OK to exit the dialog

    NOTE: You should do this for each network connection.



    Disable the DHCP Broadcast Flag:

    Link: http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx/kb/928233
    1. Go to Start and type in regedit and press Enter.
    2. Locate and then click the following registry subkey:
    3. HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\Parameters\Interfaces\{GUID}
    4. In this registry path, click the (GUID) subkey to be updated.
    5. If the key DhcpConnForceBroadcastFlag does not exist, use the Edit menu, point to New, and then click DWORD (32-bit) Value. In the New Value #1 box, type DhcpConnForceBroadcastFlag, and then press ENTER. If the key exists, skip this step.
    6. Right-click DhcpConnForceBroadcastFlag, and then click Modify.
    7. In the Value data box, type 0, and then click OK.
    8. Close Registry Editor.
    NOTE: You should do this for each and every GUID subkey.




    The only program I'm aware of that currently relies on IPv6 is the new Windows Meeting Space. The first 2 changes will cause that program not to work - but will leave all of your normal (IPv4) connections unaffected. If it causes problems that you can't overcome, simply revert back to the original settings.
     
  5. Nicr

    Nicr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Tried your sugestions and Voila it all started working, John you are da man, TX a mill, I am in your debt.(y) :)
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You're welcome. :)

    You can mark your own threads solved using the thread tools at the top of the page in the upper right corner.© :)
     
  7. Marliser

    Marliser

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Thank You JohnWill. I have spent 6+ hours today with online support to try and solve this horrible problem and managed to do so only now with your {GUID} suggestions. One "1" was changed to a "0" and am on wireless again!

    Thank you this is amazing advice and I am going to tell others about it.

    :)
    Marliser
    PS: I hate Windows Vista
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/648419

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice