1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Vista error messages on start-up

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Danyo, Dec 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Danyo

    Danyo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    415
    I'm running Vista service pack 2, when start up I get these 2 messages :

    iske program not found skipping autocheck

    ?c? config program not found skipping autocheck.

    Then it continues to load Windows and everything is running.

    The only disc I have is the recovery disc, I don't have the Vista os disck.

    What can I do to fix those problems.
     
  2. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Howdy,

    Have you been using Diskeeper's bootime defrag
     
  3. Danyo

    Danyo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    415
    Yes, I have used Diskeeper's bootime defrag. Is that the culprit that caused those errors?

    Is there anyway I can fix those errors with what I have.

    Thanks.
     
  4. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,245
    First Name:
    Cody
    Click Start.

    In the search bar type msconfig and hit Enter.

    Click Startup(tab).

    Take a screenshot(s) showing all items listed and attach the image(s) in your next post.

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
     
  5. Danyo

    Danyo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    415
    These are the only programs selected during start up. All theothers are disabled.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,245
    First Name:
    Cody
    Do you have an antivirus program?
     
  7. Danyo

    Danyo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    415
    Yes ESET NOD32. Its listed on start-up.

    Thanks for the reply
     
  8. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Is Diskeeper's bootime defrag still installed on your computer?


    Press the Windows key + R to open a Run box.

    Type the following command and click OK:
    Code:
     
    
    cmd /k reg query "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager" /v BootExecute 
    
    Copy the Command Prompt output and include it in your next reply.
     
  9. Danyo

    Danyo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    415
    Hi Phantom, yes Diskeeper is still installed but its not enabled on startup. Heres the cmd output you wanted.
     
  10. Danyo

    Danyo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    415
    Sorry I messed up trying to include the screenshot of the cmd output.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    You could have simply copied and pasted the output. :)

    You did have Perfect Disk in there also at one time. Still have it?

    Reset that registry key to default:

    Press the Windows key + R to open a Run box.

    Type regedit

    Click OK.

    Browse to:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager

    First, right-click Session Manager and select Export to backup that key to a folder of your choice.

    In the right pane, double-click BootExecute.

    Delete everything but leave the default Value autocheck autochk *.

    Very important: The default Value is autocheck autochk *

    Exit the registry editor and restart your computer.
     
  12. Danyo

    Danyo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    415
    Phantom, yes Perfect disk is stil installed and I've been using it. If diskeeper is causing these problems I'll remove it and just use Perfect disk.

    Besides that, do you still want me to do the regedit.

    Thanks
     
  13. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    It's up to you and if you're still getting the error message at Startup.

    However, the entry in that registry key looks like it's all from Perfect Disk, but I could be wrong. It's not showing the normal Diskeeper entry.

    Check your Perfect Disk settings and disable it from Boot.
     
  14. Danyo

    Danyo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    415
    I don't have it selected as "defrag at boot time" its just Perfect Disk manage boot files, defrag I usually do that manually, same for Diskeeper.

    I was just trying out Diskeeper see how that it maintained the disk drive.
     
  15. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Perfect Disk manage boot files might be what you need to disable.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1030351

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice