Solved: Vista has lost it's mind!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

CoasterFreak

Everett
Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2003
Messages
2,330
Alright Guys,
I'm really calling on you for this one. My roommate's computer has lost it's mind. And I must admit I rely heavily on my tech tools to repair pc problems but i don't bring 'em to school with me. Anyways, I think I might have this down. My roommie says he couldnt print to his printer so naturally I told him to restart (that fixes most problems). After he restarted, he started getting error messages and vista permissions messages outta the ying-yang. He can print now, but McAfee keeps popping up error messages (we counted 32 in a row). He cannot launch Internet Explorer without a permissions message. He cannot play any songs in iTunes. I think it could be a Virus or maybe McAfee decided to completely take over. Any suggesstions on how to fix? I would love to remove McAfee and see if the problem persists, but I don't believe he has it with him, so he would be unable to reinstall.
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
17,185
"McAfee decided to completely take over"
You are most likely correct. Uninstall it, and you can always install a free AV and fire wall such as AVAST and ZoneAlarm.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,413
Mcaffee is probably the worst of any AV app. At least it is a close race between mcaffee and norton. In any case uninstall mcaffee and go with a quality AV like nod32. If you want a free AV, then both avg and avast work well.

Here is a link to a page with a tool to completely remove mcaffee mcafee removal link
 

CoasterFreak

Everett
Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2003
Messages
2,330
Thanks crjdriver and DaveA for the link. I removed McAfee and it improved part of the problem. But I still keep getting Windows Security Error messages for EVERYTHING. Windows won't even let me plug in my flash drive because it won't install device drivers. I'm thinking my buddy needs to reformat, but i'm trying to avoid that. You guys think it's a registry entry I can change. Windows shouldnt return a Security Error message each time and make me click continue and THEN bring up the UAC for me to hit continue again. Very strange.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
437
Run Kasperky's online virus scan:
http://www.kaspersky.com/kos/english/kavwebscan.html

1. click the "Accept" button to
accept the user agreement, install the ActiveX control, and download the
program.
2. When you get the Windows dialog asking if you want to install this
software, click the "Install" button.
3. When the "Update progress" line changes to "Ready" and the
"NEXT ->" button lights up with a
green arrow, click it.
4. Click on the "Scan Settings" button, and in the next window
select the "extended" database, and click Ok.
5. Under "Please select a target to scan:", click My Computer
to start the scan.
6. When the scan is finished, click the "Save as .txt" button, and
save the file as kavscan.txt to your Desktop, close the Kaspersky On-line
Scanner window.

It won't 'fix' anything, but it should give you an idea if you're dealing with a virus or malware.
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
I can not understand why people still use McAfee or Norton..:eek:
You and me both but I guess the major reason is it starts with the free 60 days or 90 days free versions on branded pc's.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2007
Messages
121
You and me both but I guess the major reason is it starts with the free 60 days or 90 days free versions on branded pc's.
Plus their market share.

It's what happens when they advertise so heavily in stores and in media. People who don't know any better walk into PC shops asking for Nortons and most won't be convinced that it isn't really the best solution.

At a store I used to work we mainly sold Nortons, as it was in our retail catalogues, but we always had a few copies of Kaspersky on the back shelf for people who knew, or could be convinced, better.

In relation to this thread, yes I too would suggest removing the AV with a remover tool, and then running an online virus scan. See how that goes before doing any formats.
 

CoasterFreak

Everett
Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2003
Messages
2,330
Yeah, I'm still sticking by my system restore opinion. The system is unresponsive to everything. It won't take ANY new software/hardware including flash drives. It won't allow me to run Kaspersky scan. It only uninstalls software in safe mode (but does not install). Anyone have any other suggesstions before I help my roommate backup his info and run a restore? And Windows System Restore (as i already knew), did absolutely nothing!
 

CoasterFreak

Everett
Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2003
Messages
2,330
We had to go ahead with the System Restore...unfortuantely. Thanks for everyone's suggesstions though!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top