1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Vista sidebar clock won't stay at the GMT time I set

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by starnelka, Jan 12, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. starnelka

    starnelka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    646
    First Name:
    Vow
    I like the Windows Vista Sidebar clock but everyday when I boot up I have to go into Add Gadgets, then click on clock to re-set the time. I've tried clicking on Options when the sidebar is open but nothing ever happens.

    I've been so mad with this that I finally switched off the complete sidebar but I do miss the analogue clock. Re-setting it to my GMT time zone every day is a complete chore.

    Does anyone have a solution to this?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    if you run the windows sidebar (start>accessories>windows side bar)
    then in an empty are on the side bar - right click - properties
    a window pops up and you should have a tick box at the top to " start sidebar when windows starts"

    Now the side bar should open

    to make sure its not hidden
    also tick the
    sidebar is always on top of other windows

    Now to the clock setting

    hover over the clock - a menu should appear - with a spanner on
    click on the spanner
    you should now have an option to show time zone - make sure its set to
    Current Computer Time
     
  3. starnelka

    starnelka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    646
    First Name:
    Vow
    Hovering over the clock only results in highlighting the + symbol.
    Why should it be set to current computer time? That's when it always goes wrong. I want it set to GMT Greenwich which I've done. However, if I put the pc to sleep, or switch off altogether, next time the clock has been re-set to current computer time. This would be ok if it was on all the time but it isn't.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    sorry I thought you wanted the computer time which was in GMT
    what clock are you using ?

    heres screen shots of mine
     

    Attached Files:

  5. starnelka

    starnelka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    646
    First Name:
    Vow
    My computer clock keeps perfect time. The sidebar clock doesn't. no matter what I do. I have the same sidebar clock as you do except I have the second hand as well.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i have set mine to 6 hrs behind and to start with windows and always on top - i will reboot later and see what happens
     
  7. starnelka

    starnelka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    646
    First Name:
    Vow
    Even now, while I'm online, the Sidebar clock is refusing to keep to the correct time. I tried to remove it but it wouldn't go until I right clicked the Sidebar icon on the task bar and went into List of gadgets running. From there I was able to remove it.

    Maybe the clock needs a new battery lol.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
  9. starnelka

    starnelka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    646
    First Name:
    Vow
    I downloaded a clock from the website you listed but no dice. Everything said it was downloaded as did the list of gadgets running but it doesn't show up at all. It seems to me that all the Sidebar clock gadgets are refusing to work. Other gadgets I add to Sidebar work fine. Just not the clock.
    Thank you for your help.
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
  11. starnelka

    starnelka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    646
    First Name:
    Vow
    I, too, had been running a Custom font so I changed it to 120 (it makes the text easier to read) and now everything is rather on the large side. I think, on balance, I'd prefer to do without the clock!

    You've been working very hard on my behalf and I really appreciate it. Thank you.
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    did it work OK when you changed the font ?
     
  13. starnelka

    starnelka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    646
    First Name:
    Vow
    Yes, it seemed to work fine. What I've done now is to revert to a Custom font but the smaller rather than the 120 DPI. The clock still seems to be working ok but I won't really know until I next log on, probably tomorrow. So it seems that the forum you directed me to had the solution.
    Do we now mark this solved? Or should we wait until tomorrow?
    Thank you again, I appreciate all the trouble you've gone to.
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    (y) your welcome - lets see what happens tomorrow , then an update and then mark solved - that will help others with the same problem searching the forum, get a full explanation
    if you dont mind that is
     
  15. starnelka

    starnelka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    646
    First Name:
    Vow
    I must add that I didn't mean a Custom Font. I meant I reverted to the default DPI. Sorry.
    I've just put the pc to sleep while I walked the dog and when I opened it up again the clock still seems to be working. So good so far.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/974217

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice