Solved: Vista Windows Installer & Add/Remove Not working

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jg1961

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
35
My Vista machine has errors trying to download Program updates and trying to use Add/Remove programs. The Windows Installer won't start. Can I repair this without wiping out operating system?
 

jg1961

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
35
I ran the scan. it said some corruption couldn't be fixed and to look in the CBS.log file. I tried to open a CBS text file in /windows/log/cbs and was told i didnt have access. After rebooting my PC, the Windows installer still would not start
 

jg1961

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
35
If you are going from 32 bit Vista to Windows 7, am I asking for trouble? What kinds of additional problems would I have? How hard is it to do custom install? What parameters should I select?
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
When the Windows Installer fails to start, an error is displayed with an error number. What is it?
 

jg1961

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
35
not sure which would be best. I have been having problems with my Windows Installer in Vista and thought maybe I should go ahead and move to Windows 7 and resolve that issue.
 

jg1961

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
35
Error C1 from Windows Update

and
"Windows Installer Service could not be accessed" from Add/Remove Programs
 

jg1961

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
35
I already tried this and when I entered in the run box "msiexec /regserver" is said this command is not a valid Win32 application
 

antech

Banned
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
1,427
A Clean Install would be a good choice and recommended one since upgradation has known problems.
It is no hard to perform a custom install
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
17,185
antech,
What is it with you and BOLD RED text?
I am starting to ignore your post as the bold red text makes your posts hard to read.
 

jg1961

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
35
If I did a clean install, would I have to reinstall all other drivers and programs and data?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top