1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Vista Wireless Connectivity Issue

Discussion in 'Networking' started by DazedConfused55, Feb 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. DazedConfused55

    DazedConfused55 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    The problem is with an HP laptop with Vista SP2. It will connect just fine with an Ethernet cable.

    When connected wirelessly, it will connect to the network but no Internet is available. Connection is shown as "Unidentified Network" and access is "Local."

    ipconfig is as follows:
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : GREG-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce 10/100/1000 Mbps Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-16-72-45-68
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007 802.11b/g WiFi Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-2B-DA-67-9F
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::4d0d:1291:f495:fc5c%10(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.145(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, February 03, 2013 11:32:37 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, February 05, 2013 12:07:48 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 218113067
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-11-52-38-44-00-24-2B-DA-67-9F
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.217.0.5
    24.217.201.67
    24.247.15.53
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{74773FDD-1ADF-4B3E-AE89-2BE5F31F337A}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    Wireless Adapter is Atheros AR5007 802.11b/g. Driver is current.
    I've tried the "FixIt" at Microsoft's help site. Windows firewall is off, and there currently is no anti-virus installed. I've reset the TCP/IP stack. I've also made the registry changes suggested by the Microsoft KB article.

    Nothing I've done has allowed this laptop to connect wirelessly. It did, however, connect with a home network before it came to my house.

    My router is a Cisco, and I have three other laptops (XP & Windows 7) and two desktops that wirelessly connect just fine. I have, however, reset both the router and the cable modem.

    I've read nearly every post on this subject out there and nothing has worked.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,251
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you have the Atheros AR5007 and known issue on vista
    you need to actually install the driver

    try the driver from the atheros site

    AR5007
    Vista 32 / 64 Bit
    Direct link Drivers for Atheros AR5007 and Windows Vista 32 / 64 bit
    You only need to click on the green download button labelled " Click to Download " and wait, the file will download - you do not need to click on any other buttons to get the download started

    To install the driver you will need to do the following

    Extract the downloaded zip file into a folder on the PC
    then

    > Start Globe
    > Control Panel
    > System and maintenance
    > Scroll down to Device manager
    > network adaptors, click on the + >
    > Right click on the AR5007(EG) Adapter
    > click on Update Driver Software...
    > click on Browse my computer for driver software
    > let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer
    > Have Disk
    > click on the Button Browse...
    > Locate the folder you extracted the zip folder and highlight the .inf file
    you should see two files with .inf
    Vista 32Bit AR5007 netathv.inf
    Vista 64Bit AR5007 netathvx.inf
     
  3. DazedConfused55

    DazedConfused55 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    3
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,251
    First Name:
    Wayne
    glad it worked
    just tried the zip file and it worked and extracted ok for me - strange
     
  5. DazedConfused55

    DazedConfused55 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Ah well, it's easily found if one knows what to look for. Thanks for letting me know what to look for!
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1088118

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice