1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Vista & XP file sharing

Discussion in 'Networking' started by rainforest123, Apr 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rainforest123

    rainforest123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    XP Home SP2
    192.168.0.101
    255.255.255.0
    workgroup

    Vista Home Premium SP 0
    192.168.0.102
    255.255.255.0
    workgroup

    McAfee Firewall; part of McAfee Security Suite

    XP's firewall is off.

    Vista's firewall is off.

    Ethernet & Ethernet.

    XP can ping Vista's IP address

    Vista can ping XP's IP address

    Neither can ping the other's friendly name.

    XP can see Vista.

    Vista can see XP.

    I cannot access files, from XP on Vista.

    I can access files on XP, from Vista. I can push files from Vista to a folder [ sharing is enabled ] on XP.
    c:\files_from_Vista

    Same thing happens in selective startup.
    All Microsoft services enabled & hidden; all other services disabled.
    All startup items disabled.

    I verified that the following services were started:
    Browser
    DHCP Clinet
    DNS Client
    Network Con
    Network Local Aware
    RPC
    Servier
    TcP / IP
    Workstation

    What is the significance of being able to ping the IP address, but ping the friendly name?

    RF123
     
  2. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,077
    First Name:
    David
    This just may be your problem. I have yet found a network with McAfee on it to work completely as designed
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,269
    First Name:
    Terry
    "Friendly" name the same as computer or host name? Ability to ping by IP address but not by name is usually a firewall or NetBIOS issue. For each PC please show ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    nbtstat -n

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  4. rainforest123

    rainforest123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    DaveA:
    It wouldn't surprise me.

    TN:
    Thanks.

    By friendly name, I mean "host name", which in "system properties" is "full computer name".

    nbtstat -n
    Vista
    Local Area Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [192.168.0.102] Scope Id: []

    NetBIOS Local Name Table

    Name Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    manchester <00> UNIQUE Registered
    WORKGROUP <00> GROUP Registered
    manchester <20> UNIQUE Registered
    WORKGROUP <1E> GROUP Registered

    nbtstat -n
    XP
    Local Area Connection 3:
    Node IpAddress: [192.168.0.101] Scope Id: []

    NetBIOS Local Name Table

    Name Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    lyons <00> UNIQUE Registered
    WORKGROUP <00> GROUP Registered
    lyons <20> UNIQUE Registered
    WORKGROUP <1E> GROUP Registered

    RF123
     
  5. support.clpafs

    support.clpafs

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    252
    Have you checked the Network and Sharing Center.....might be useful.

    Also keep in mind the permissions set on the file share.

    Network Support Representative
    Technology and Information Services
    CLPAFS Unified School District
     
  6. rainforest123

    rainforest123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    support.clpafs:
    Thanks for the tip.

    I will do so.

    RF123
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,269
    First Name:
    Terry
    Neither machine is the master browser. Unless you have another computer on the network that would explain the inability to ping by name. But I have no idea how neither would get elected master browser as long as the Computer Browser service is running. I assume that is the service you meant in your initial post by "Browser."
     
  8. rainforest123

    rainforest123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    TN:
    "Computer Browser". Your assumption is correct.

    Thanks for noting: "Neither machine is the master browser."

    How do I enable the master browser?

    RF123
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,269
    First Name:
    Terry
    Normally there is no problem with a computer becoming Master Browser. In fact, what I was expecting to see is both of them being master, which would point to a firewall problems.

    I'm sure there is some registry edit to prevent a PC from becoming Master, but I do not know where it is.

    In short, I don't know where to go from here.
     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    How to control how a computer participates in the Master Browser election:

    Using REGEDIT, modify these STRING registry keys:

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \System \CurrentControlSet \Services \Browser \Parameters]
    MaintainServerList = "Auto" (Pro = "Auto", Server = "Yes", Off = "No")
    IsDomainMaster = "True" (On = "True", Off = "False", Default = "False")

    The MaintainServerList controls if it should participate in the election at all.
    The IsDomainMaster gives the computer a higher priority in the election.
     
  11. rainforest123

    rainforest123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    JW:
    Thanks.

    I forgot to mention that the computers are on a workgroup, not a domain.

    How does that impact the advice you offered?
    "The IsDomainMaster gives the computer a higher priority in the election."

    RF123
     
  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    The browser election mechanism works the same in a workgroup. The setting just makes that machine win any election if it's the only one with that attribute, that's what it's for.
     
  13. rainforest123

    rainforest123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    JW:
    Thanks!
    (y)
    I will post the results.

    RF123
     
  14. rainforest123

    rainforest123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    Dave-A:
    Problem resolved by uninstalling McAfee Firewalls; using integrated FW's from Winodws.

    support.clpafs:
    You were correct that I needed to make a change. I discovered that even though I shared the printer, it wasn't available until I enabled printer sharing in Network and Sharing Center.

    TN & JW:
    Thanks for contributing to my education.
    (y) (y)

    RF123
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/701422

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice