Solved: Vista-XP Ping Problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ishenka

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 29, 2008
Messages
12
Hi I have an issue with networking and possibly a firewall issue - I have a desktop with XP home and have just bought a laptop with vista basic and I'm having trouble getting them to play nicely together.

I've finally got the vista laptop connecting to the XP desktop so i can access files etc... but I still can't get xp desktop to 'see' vista laptop.

The laptop can ping the pc using the ip address but not the name. The desktop can't ping laptop using either ip address or name.

Both have windows firewall - I've shutdown the firewall on the vista but still can't ping it from the xp.

The are connected using a wireless modem/router (Netcomm NB9W) - does this have a firewall that could be causing an issue?

I'm not sure what else to tell you.... any help would be very much appreciated.

Also, i've downloaded the LLTD on to the xp.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
The Vista firewall should be fine if you've set the network to private. 3rd party firewalls (internet security) often must be properly configured or completely and cleanly uninstalled. For both PCs please show ...

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista type CMD in the Search box after Start)

Type the following commands:

nbtstat -n

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

ishenka

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 29, 2008
Messages
12
Hi THANKYOU!!!!!!

i've also included the ping results using ip address and name

here is the xp desktop,


Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\DavidKatyLuka>nbtstat -n

Local Area Connection:
Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.2] Scope Id: []

NetBIOS Local Name Table

Name Type Status
---------------------------------------------
DESKTOPPC <00> UNIQUE Registered
DESKTOPPC <20> UNIQUE Registered
HOME <00> GROUP Registered
HOME <1E> GROUP Registered

C:\Documents and Settings\DavidKatyLuka>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DesktopPC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : SiS 900 PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-85-C7-A8-0E
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 203.12.160.35
203.12.160.36
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, 30 March 2008 7:36:05 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, 31 March 2008 7:36:05 AM

C:\Documents and Settings\DavidKatyLuka>ping 192.168.1.3

Pinging 192.168.1.3 with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.3:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Documents and Settings\DavidKatyLuka>ping KatyLaptop
Ping request could not find host KatyLaptop. Please check the name and try again
.

C:\Documents and Settings\DavidKatyLuka>
 

ishenka

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 29, 2008
Messages
12
and here is vista laptop, again with ping results for name and ip address

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Katy Laptop>nbtstat -n

Local Area Connection:
Node IpAddress: [0.0.0.0] Scope Id: []

No names in cache

Wireless Network Connection:
Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.3] Scope Id: []

NetBIOS Local Name Table

Name Type Status
---------------------------------------------
KATYLAPTOP <00> UNIQUE Registered
HOME <00> GROUP Registered
KATYLAPTOP <20> UNIQUE Registered
HOME <1E> GROUP Registered
HOME <1D> UNIQUE Registered
..__MSBROWSE__.<01> GROUP Registered

C:\Users\Katy Laptop>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : KatyLaptop
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007EG Wireless Network Adapter

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-3A-2C-BB-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::b837:bf03:ea84:f130%9(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, 30 March 2008 2:12:11 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, 31 March 2008 2:12:10 AM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234889018
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Fast Ethernet
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-38-CB-08-83
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{6ACD3DFD-FF53-4D7C-9FAC-1421ACB22
1E1}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{685A6A85-7609-40BA-976A-1F85F08AA
211}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.3%12(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:cf2e:308c:18fb:2139:3f57:fefc(Pref
erred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::18fb:2139:3f57:fefc%11(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Users\Katy Laptop>ping 192.168.1.2

Pinging 192.168.1.2 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.1.2: bytes=32 time=105ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.2: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.2:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 105ms, Average = 26ms

C:\Users\Katy Laptop>ping DesktopPC
Ping request could not find host DesktopPC. Please check the name and try again.


C:\Users\Katy Laptop>

Thank you so very much for trying to help me I'm pretty much a novice and this has been driving me crazy.

Cheers, Katy
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
Each nbtstat -n and ipconfig /all result looks good to me.

The failure of the Vista to reply to ping requests is almost definitely because of a firewall. In the Network and Sharing Center it says whether your network is Public or Private. You want Private, and if it is private then the Vista firewall should be fine.

Most manufacturers deliver new PCs with an internet security suite and a short trial subscription to updates. Assuming you have one either uninstall it now using the Programs and Features control panel or learn to use it. The first thing to learn would be how to tell it to "trust" your local network.

The failure of the XP to reply to ping by Name is also probably a firewall issue.
 

ishenka

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 29, 2008
Messages
12
Hi Terry, the network in vista is private. The computer comes with nortons but i don't have it on. I'll uninstall it and let you know how it goes. I use AVG as a virus thingy, could that cause a problem?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
AVG anti-virus is fine; AVG security suite includes a firewall.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2006
Messages
360
If you go into Norton's Protection Center and click on Settings and Personal Firewall and Configure you will be able to add your network to the trusted ones under Trust Control.Just click your network in the list and click Trust.

But if you have uninstalled it then forget about that.
 

ishenka

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 29, 2008
Messages
12
Ok, now i am having trouble getting nortons off my computer. I've tried to download the removal tool from the symantec website but freakily i keep getting an error saying firefox can't access the site. So I tried to download from a different site and the same thing happened. Its like norton is digging its heals in or maybe I'm just getting paranoid. any suggestions?? thanks
 

ishenka

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 29, 2008
Messages
12
you guys totally rock - thanks so much for helping me!!
I'm running the removal tool now. Once its done I'll try to ping the vista laptop from the XP desktop and let you know how i go. I have all my fingers and toes crossed. Cheers, Katy
 

ishenka

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 29, 2008
Messages
12
Ok, I can ping the laptop from the desktop - yippee!!! I am trying to connect to the laptop (via typing in \\192.168.1.3 into the explorer address bar) and a dialogue box comes up asking for username and password. I have the same username and password set up on both machines. I type it in eg: adm and the password and the username changes to KATYLAPTOP\adm i reenter the password and nothing happens. the dialogue box blinks and then stays the same.

what i am doing wrong here?
Cheers, Katy
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top