1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Vista-XP Ping Problem

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by ishenka, Mar 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ishenka

    ishenka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Hi I have an issue with networking and possibly a firewall issue - I have a desktop with XP home and have just bought a laptop with vista basic and I'm having trouble getting them to play nicely together.

    I've finally got the vista laptop connecting to the XP desktop so i can access files etc... but I still can't get xp desktop to 'see' vista laptop.

    The laptop can ping the pc using the ip address but not the name. The desktop can't ping laptop using either ip address or name.

    Both have windows firewall - I've shutdown the firewall on the vista but still can't ping it from the xp.

    The are connected using a wireless modem/router (Netcomm NB9W) - does this have a firewall that could be causing an issue?

    I'm not sure what else to tell you.... any help would be very much appreciated.

    Also, i've downloaded the LLTD on to the xp.
     
  2. unbidden

    unbidden

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,469
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,605
    First Name:
    Terry
    The Vista firewall should be fine if you've set the network to private. 3rd party firewalls (internet security) often must be properly configured or completely and cleanly uninstalled. For both PCs please show ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following commands:

    nbtstat -n

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  4. ishenka

    ishenka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Hi THANKYOU!!!!!!

    i've also included the ping results using ip address and name

    here is the xp desktop,


    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\DavidKatyLuka>nbtstat -n

    Local Area Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.2] Scope Id: []

    NetBIOS Local Name Table

    Name Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    DESKTOPPC <00> UNIQUE Registered
    DESKTOPPC <20> UNIQUE Registered
    HOME <00> GROUP Registered
    HOME <1E> GROUP Registered

    C:\Documents and Settings\DavidKatyLuka>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DesktopPC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : SiS 900 PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-85-C7-A8-0E
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 203.12.160.35
    203.12.160.36
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, 30 March 2008 7:36:05 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, 31 March 2008 7:36:05 AM

    C:\Documents and Settings\DavidKatyLuka>ping 192.168.1.3

    Pinging 192.168.1.3 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.3:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Documents and Settings\DavidKatyLuka>ping KatyLaptop
    Ping request could not find host KatyLaptop. Please check the name and try again
    .

    C:\Documents and Settings\DavidKatyLuka>
     
  5. ishenka

    ishenka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    and here is vista laptop, again with ping results for name and ip address

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Katy Laptop>nbtstat -n

    Local Area Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [0.0.0.0] Scope Id: []

    No names in cache

    Wireless Network Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.3] Scope Id: []

    NetBIOS Local Name Table

    Name Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    KATYLAPTOP <00> UNIQUE Registered
    HOME <00> GROUP Registered
    KATYLAPTOP <20> UNIQUE Registered
    HOME <1E> GROUP Registered
    HOME <1D> UNIQUE Registered
    ..__MSBROWSE__.<01> GROUP Registered

    C:\Users\Katy Laptop>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : KatyLaptop
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007EG Wireless Network Adapter

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-3A-2C-BB-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::b837:bf03:ea84:f130%9(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, 30 March 2008 2:12:11 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, 31 March 2008 2:12:10 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234889018
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Fast Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-38-CB-08-83
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{6ACD3DFD-FF53-4D7C-9FAC-1421ACB22
    1E1}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{685A6A85-7609-40BA-976A-1F85F08AA
    211}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.3%12(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:cf2e:308c:18fb:2139:3f57:fefc(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::18fb:2139:3f57:fefc%11(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    C:\Users\Katy Laptop>ping 192.168.1.2

    Pinging 192.168.1.2 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 192.168.1.2: bytes=32 time=105ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.1.2: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.1.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.1.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.2:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 105ms, Average = 26ms

    C:\Users\Katy Laptop>ping DesktopPC
    Ping request could not find host DesktopPC. Please check the name and try again.


    C:\Users\Katy Laptop>

    Thank you so very much for trying to help me I'm pretty much a novice and this has been driving me crazy.

    Cheers, Katy
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,605
    First Name:
    Terry
    Each nbtstat -n and ipconfig /all result looks good to me.

    The failure of the Vista to reply to ping requests is almost definitely because of a firewall. In the Network and Sharing Center it says whether your network is Public or Private. You want Private, and if it is private then the Vista firewall should be fine.

    Most manufacturers deliver new PCs with an internet security suite and a short trial subscription to updates. Assuming you have one either uninstall it now using the Programs and Features control panel or learn to use it. The first thing to learn would be how to tell it to "trust" your local network.

    The failure of the XP to reply to ping by Name is also probably a firewall issue.
     
  7. ishenka

    ishenka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Hi Terry, the network in vista is private. The computer comes with nortons but i don't have it on. I'll uninstall it and let you know how it goes. I use AVG as a virus thingy, could that cause a problem?
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,605
    First Name:
    Terry
    AVG anti-virus is fine; AVG security suite includes a firewall.
     
  9. Oily

    Oily

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    360
    If you go into Norton's Protection Center and click on Settings and Personal Firewall and Configure you will be able to add your network to the trusted ones under Trust Control.Just click your network in the list and click Trust.

    But if you have uninstalled it then forget about that.
     
  10. ishenka

    ishenka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Ok, now i am having trouble getting nortons off my computer. I've tried to download the removal tool from the symantec website but freakily i keep getting an error saying firefox can't access the site. So I tried to download from a different site and the same thing happened. Its like norton is digging its heals in or maybe I'm just getting paranoid. any suggestions?? thanks
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,605
    First Name:
    Terry
  12. Oily

    Oily

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    360
    Here you go I have zipped it up for you.

    WARNING:The Norton Removal Tool uninstalls all Norton 2008/2007/2006/2005/2004/2003 products and Norton 360 from your computer. If you use ACT! or WinFAX, back up those databases before you proceed.

    Too big to attach,you can download it here

    http://rapidshare.com/files/103434924/Norton_Removal_Tool.zip
     
  13. ishenka

    ishenka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    you guys totally rock - thanks so much for helping me!!
    I'm running the removal tool now. Once its done I'll try to ping the vista laptop from the XP desktop and let you know how i go. I have all my fingers and toes crossed. Cheers, Katy
     
  14. ishenka

    ishenka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Ok, I can ping the laptop from the desktop - yippee!!! I am trying to connect to the laptop (via typing in \\192.168.1.3 into the explorer address bar) and a dialogue box comes up asking for username and password. I have the same username and password set up on both machines. I type it in eg: adm and the password and the username changes to KATYLAPTOP\adm i reenter the password and nothing happens. the dialogue box blinks and then stays the same.

    what i am doing wrong here?
    Cheers, Katy
     
  15. Oily

    Oily

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    360
    If you go to My Network Places do your shared folders show up.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/698265

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice