1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Voice over Telophone Jack/line?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mike360x1, Dec 31, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mike360x1

    mike360x1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Is it possible to answer a call with a land line via computer? I already saw this thread http://forums.techguy.org/networking/782947-solved-telephone-calls-via-my.html
    but it was closed so I had to start a new one..
    could somone tell me an alternative software to the one he mentioned (the FXO thing)? or can someone give more detail about this?

    He also mentions a Digium TDM 400 card. What type of card is this called? could you give me a link to a similar card? preferably on newegg.ca ( I live in canada) do I need to buy a card like his which is 100 bucks or can this be done with a $10 piece of hardware? I only need one port in and one port out (telephone jack that is.)..

    It would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    All you should really need is a PCI telephone modem card
    that is compatable with your computer and a headset or
    speakers and microphone connected.
    Most modems have and out jack also,so you can connect a
    phone to it.
    Something like this.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16825164003&cm_re=pci_modem_56k-_-25-164-003-_-Product
    They usually come with phone software.
    That is for standard land line telephones.

    For internet phones,you would need some kind of voip adapter if you are trying
    to connect a regular telephone to it.
     
  3. mike360x1

    mike360x1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    do you have examples of that software? (I mean for the modem thing).
     
  4. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
  5. mike360x1

    mike360x1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    yeah but can you give me a link to the softwhere if possible and does windows have a program like that?
     
  6. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/971912

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice