1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Volume Control in Windows XP

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by mpgreeley, Feb 5, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mpgreeley

    mpgreeley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    I have Sndvol32.exe files in the system folder. In fact there are the following files:
    Sndvol32.exe
    Sndvol32.exe.mui (3 of these)
    SNDVOL32.EXE-0EC6FD20.pf

    I tried to execute the first file but I got the message: There are no active mixer devices available. Click printers and other hardware, then click add hardware. But I don't have printers and hardware, just printers and faxes.
    What should I do to get the volume icon back in the taskbar? I don't have the original Windows XP installation disk.
    Thanks
     
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,317
    Try this
    To add the Volume icon to the notification area of your computer, follow these steps:

    1. Click Start, and then click Run.
    2. Copy and paste or type the following command in the Open box, and then click OK:
    mmsys.cpl

    1. Click to select the Place volume icon in the taskbar check box.
    2. Click OK.
     
  3. mpgreeley

    mpgreeley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks for your suggestion. What I get is a menu with grayed out entries and the message "no audio device"
     
  4. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,317
    Can you actually play audio - albeit you receive that message

    and are these files in the system folder OR the system32 folder
     
  5. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,317
    when you return I will show you how to obtain that system32 file sndvol
    without the XP CD and/or hopefully find the driver for you audio device
     
  6. mpgreeley

    mpgreeley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    thanks for your continued help. no I no longer have any audio on my laptop. Please show me how to get that system32 file without the XP CD.
     
  7. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,317
  8. mpgreeley

    mpgreeley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks for your help.
    Sony VAIO model VGN-Sz260P
    I downloaded the sysinfo.exe file and ran it but there was no result?
     
  9. mpgreeley

    mpgreeley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
    Processor: Genuine Intel(R) CPU T2400 @ 1.83GHz, x86 Family 6 Model 14 Stepping 8
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 2045 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce Go 7400, 128 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 108321 MB, Free - 1440 MB;
    Motherboard: Sony Corporation, VAIO
    Antivirus: Norton AntiVirus, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled
     
  10. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,317
  11. mpgreeley

    mpgreeley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    thanks very much. The driver download worked.
     
  12. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,317
    So is all working now and volume icon in taskbar
    if so please mark topic solved by clicking mark solved button on your post
     
  13. vdelverso

    vdelverso

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    hello I seem to be having the same type of problem on my windows xp
    heres my info hope you can also help me thanks

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU N450 @ 1.66GHz, x86 Family 6 Model 28 Stepping 10
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 1011 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) Graphics Media Accelerator 3150, 384 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 152616 MB, Free - 115728 MB;
    Motherboard: Hewlett-Packard, 148A
    Antivirus: None
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1142527

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice